A Little Bit About the Album I Put Out Yesterday..

IMG_1047

(Here’s a link to where you can download, or just listen to the album: http://www.noisetrade.com/jeffgrant/notebook-rock )

I ended up “dropping” my new album, Notebook Rock yesterday. It wasn’t exactly planned. What happened is I had a few songs left that needed some mixing attention and I was able to finish those in the morning and then I had the realization that this thing I’d been working on for most of this year was finally done. I thought it might have to wait until 2015, but was glad to go ahead and put it out.

There’s an odd relief in finally releasing music. I’ve been writing and recording and rerecording and mixing and remixing and rewriting and.. I’ve been working on it since at least April. Some of the songs have gone through a few different versions, but my goal was to keep working on them until I felt like they were about as good as I could get them.

I’ve been writing songs for a while, and my old method was to write them once and record them in any way available, and then throw them out to whoever cared, whichever way I could. These days I guess I’m okay working slower, and I have more recording opportunities (meaning I can do them myself at any time, pretty much), so I wanted to try to get each song to the best place I could. Also, I think I’m down to only, like, 3 fans these days, so they’ll be fine—I think I’m kidding(?). 

One thing I enjoy about writing songs is it gives me endless opportunities to learn how to record better. If one song sounds like total crap, there’s always a new one coming to try to do better. I have made MANY awful-sounding songs in my life, but at least it hasn’t been a waste for me personally—I can’t speak for the listeners though (polite laughter).

One thing I like about this group of songs is I got my first ever bass guitar a few months ago, so I was able to add that to a good portion of them. It’s just exciting to hear the difference it makes, it really thickens the sounds and just makes them seem more substantial and what not (yeah, bass stuff). I’m not a drummer, and I have the rhythm of a duck, but I was able to add some slight beats low in the mixes as well, which helps fill the songs out a little more than usual.

One thing I kept being reminded of when I was listening back to all the songs yesterday is that I am a STRANGE songwriter. I mean, I dig what I do, but I am very firmly in the “not for everybody” category. Sometimes when I’m listening to my songs all I can think about is how certain people I know would flat out hate them, or just be bored out of their minds. I have to push past that though, and keep in mind that somewhere, even if I don’t know them, there are people who will treasure this music. It’s such a strange headspace to be in, but at a certain point you just have to let go of the songs and let them be what they’re gonna be and do what they’re gonna do. People will have every kind of response under the sun, but in the end it just is what it is.

I can’t think of anything else to say, though I wanted to let you know that I included a PDF of the lyrics with the songs, so that should be included if you download the songs. If you don’t get it and want one, let me know and I can email it to you or whatever. Also, I’m hoping to add this to my bandcamp site one day soon, whenever I have some extra time. 

Thanks for listening, hope you had a great year!

Jeff

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

