A Story About a Band

7      INT. BAND PRACTICE SPACE – NIGHT                           7

A SINGER, a GUITAR PLAYER, a BASS PLAYER and a DRUMMER are

standing in a circle with their instruments talking to each

other.

GUITAR PLAYER

But what I was saying is do you

want me to play the little twiddly

part before or after the bridge?

SINGER

Just do what feels right.

DRUMMER

Do it right before.

BASS PLAYER

What?  Where is the twiddly part

going again?

GUITAR PLAYER

Good grief, man!  It’s going RIGHT

BEFORE the bridge.  You’ll see when

we get there.

SINGER

Let’s just play this thing.

DRUMMER

Alright.  Ready?  ONE TWO THREE

FOUR

The band launches into some kind of rocking song.

SINGER

(singing)

When my baby leaves me cryin’ in

the rain/ I go hoppin’ on the party

boy train/ She feels lonely and I

feel dry/ I’m riding a train but I

feel like I fly–

DRUMMER

(cutting it off)

Wait wait wait!! What’s going on

here?  What’s this song

(MORE)

(CONTINUED)

CONTINUED:                                             23.

DRUMMER (cont’d)

about?  “I’m riding on a train but

I feel like I fly”?

SINGER

It’s like a metaphor for the

feeling you get when you leave your

girl after she leaves you crying in

the rain, you know?

DRUMMER

But what are we saying here?

BASS PLAYER

Isn’t it supposed to be like

revenge to the girl that left you

crying in the rain?  When you hop

on the train and all?

GUITAR PLAYER

Yeah, that’s always how I

understood it.

DRUMMER

But what does that say about us as

people?  Like we would leave our

women on trains?

SINGER

It’s about freedom, man.  It’s

about saying, “No woman is gonna

tell me what to do!”

DRUMMER

But your wife would KILL you if you

said that to her!

SINGER

Oh, I don’t talk to my wife that

way.  What, do you think I’m an

idiot?

GUITAR PLAYER

(under his breath)

No comment.

DRUMMER

I mean, why would you say something

in a song that you wouldn’t say in

real life?  It just seems..

contradictory.

(CONTINUED)

CONTINUED:                                             24.

SINGER

It’s called POETRY, man.  It’s

about meaning and symbolism.  I’m

not really singing about me.  I’m

singing about the every day man,

you know?  Like a literature

thing.  I don’t know if you know

about that stuff.

DRUMMER

I… I’ve heard of that but.. I

mean.. some people in the audience

will think we’re just mean

people.  What about our image?

SINGER

We’re supposed to be mean people,

man!  We sell more records the

meaner we get.  You know

that.  It’s a.. it’s a business

decision.  Come on, man.  You know

we’ve all got families to feed.

DRUMMER

But what if — what if we were nice

for a change?  What if we tried to

be positive?

BASS PLAYER

Man, you don’t know nothin’ about

music.

GUITAR PLAYER

Where are you going with this,

man?  You know flower power is

dead, right?

DRUMMER

I just feel like there’s something

better for us.  Something

brighter.  That’s all.

SINGER

Sometimes I think you’re in the

wrong band.  We’re about The Rock

here. Don’t you get that?  Or have

you been sleeping under The Rock?

This really rubs the drummer the wrong way.  He lifts his

fists and lunges forward.  The bass player jumps over and

holds him back.

(CONTINUED)

CONTINUED:                                             25.

BASS PLAYER

Easy.. easy.. lets all be grown ups

here..

DRUMMER

That’s what I’m trying to say!  I

can’t take this kiddie business

anymore.  I’m outta here!

He leaves.

SINGER

(watching him go)

He’ll be back.

8      INT. THE DRUMMER’S CAR – JUST THEN                         8

The drummer is driving alone in his car.  He’s visually

distraught and feeling commotion.  There’s no one in the car

but he’s talking to himself.

DRUMMER

(through tears)

Why don’t they understand?  Why

don’t they get this?  We’ve been

doing this tough guy thing for so

long!  But we’re all family guys

now.  We’ve all got kids in

preschool!  And they can see

through our image!  They laugh at

us.  They think it’s a joke.  They

know we’re all just softies deep

inside.  But still we present this

facade!  As if our life depends on

it.  But I only wear black when I’m

playing with the band.. the rest of

the time… I WEAR COLOR!

He reaches down and turns on the radio.  It’s folksy wussy

music.

DRUMMER (CONT.)

.. I mean, I like stuff like this

too!  Why do we have to be so

confined to mean rock music as if

we’ve gotta prove that we’re rough

and tumble..  I just don’t like

being in this band anymore.  But we

make some money from the tours and

it’s just enough to get by and

support my family.  My wife is

supportive though I know she’d be

(MORE)

(CONTINUED)

CONTINUED:                                             26.

DRUMMER (CONT.) (cont’d)

happier if I had a more steady

schedule close to home.  But this

is all I’ve ever known!  I’ve been

playing in various bands since I

was 16.  I just don’t know if there

is an alternative path for me that

would work.. I worry about these

sorts of things on a daily

basis!  Woe is me, I am a

conflicted man and I don’t know

what to do with my life.  I don’t

know the right decision for me in

my situation.

9      INT. BAND PRACTICE SPACE – JUST THEN                       9

The other 3 guys are sitting around drinking diet soft

drinks and looking morosely at the floor.

BASS PLAYER

What are we gonna do?  If he leaves

the band we’ll have to find another

drummer.  And he’s good!  I mean,

he’s no Kieth Moon but he’s good

enough for us!

GUITAR PLAYER

I say let him go.  Maybe we can

just get a beat machine.  I don’t

know.  I’m just thinking out loud

here.

SINGER

I just don’t feel like he fits in

with us anymore.  It’s a struggle

getting him to do anything

lately.  It’s like he’s always

fighting us for control.

GUITAR PLAYER

What do you think about what he

said?  About us being immature.

SINGER

He’s the one being immature!  He

just walked out on us.  He’s a

loose cannon I say.  Let the baby

go cry but I say we don’t let him

back in the band.

(CONTINUED)

CONTINUED:                                             27.

BASS PLAYER

But he’s been in the band so

long!  He’s been in the band longer

than you!

SINGER

Yeah, but I’ve gotta write all the

words.  People connect with the

band because of me more than the

drummer.

GUITAR PLAYER

Hey, I don’t like that kind of

talk.  We’re a team, you know.  It

takes all of us to make this work.

SINGER

Yeah, well I think you’re all

replaceable..

BASS PLAYER

WHAT?!  What did you just say?!

SINGER

I said.. I think you’re all

unimportant to my true vision!

GUITAR PLAYER

Hey, just who do you think you are,

man?

SINGER

I think I’m tired of dealing with

all of this nonsense.  I think I’m

ticked off.  I think I’m outta

here.

He leaves.

The Guitar Player and the Bass Player look at each other.

GUITAR PLAYER

I always thought that guy was a

douche bag.

BASS PLAYER

I’m tired of dealing with all this

stupid band drama.  I just want to

play music.

GUITAR PLAYER

You know, maybe this is a good time

to start that electronic side

(MORE)

(CONTINUED)

CONTINUED:                                             28.

GUITAR PLAYER (cont’d)

project we’ve been talking about

for so long.

BASS PLAYER

Hey, I like the way your brain

works.  Let me show you this riff

I’ve been working on.

GUITAR PLAYER

I’m all ears.

The Bass Player shows the Guitar Player his new riff idea

and the Guitar Player nods along.  He likes what he’s

hearing.

Suddenly the Drummer walks back in.  They’re still playing

and don’t notice him.

DRUMMER

Hey, that’s nice.

The other two realize they’re not alone and are startled.

GUITAR PLAYER

Hey!  What?!  Why did you come

back?

BASS PLAYER

Yeah!

DRUMMER

You know guys, I’ve been thinking

and.. wait, where’s the Singer?

GUITAR PLAYER

He got pissed off and left.  He

says he’s gonna start a new band

and that we all suck.

DRUMMER

What a jerk.  Just let him go.

GUITAR PLAYER

We did.

BASS PLAYER

Yeah.

DRUMMER

Well what are ya’ll doing now?

(CONTINUED)

CONTINUED:                                             29.

GUITAR PLAYER

We’re uh.. we’re..

BASS PLAYER

(to the Guitar Player)

Just tell him.

GUITAR PLAYER

We’ve decided to start our

electronic side project.

DRUMMER

Oh yeah?  The one you’ve been

talking about for years?

GUITAR PLAYER

One and the same.

BASS PLAYER

Yep.

DRUMMER

Well, I’ve been thinking too and

I’ve got a new direction.

GUITAR PLAYER

Oh yeah?  What are you gonna do?

DRUMMER

Well, it’s still in the early

stages obviously but.. I’ve decided

to start a folk band.

GUITAR PLAYER

A folk band?!  Since when have you

wanted to play folk music?  And you

don’t even play guitar!

DRUMMER

It’s been a secret dream of mine for

a long time.  I thought I told you

guys about it.

BASS PLAYER

Nope.

GUITAR PLAYER

How are you gonna manage that?

DRUMMER

Well, I guess I thought when I came

back I could talk to you guys

maybe..but now I see that the

(MORE)

(CONTINUED)

CONTINUED:                                             30.

DRUMMER (cont’d)

Singer left and you guys are

wanting to start your own

thing.  I.. I guess I’m alone.

GUITAR PLAYER

I guess you are.

DRUMMER

Do you think you could show me some

chords?  For old time’s sake?

GUITAR PLAYER

(to the Bass Player)

He wants me to show him chords..

for old time sake’s.. can you

believe this guy?

BASS PLAYER

Just teach him some chords so he

can go and we can start on our own

thing.

GUITAR PLAYER

Oh okay.  But just this

once.  After I’m done you’ve gotta

go and you can’t come back.

DRUMMER

Oh, alright!

The Guitar Player teaches him 5 new chords and then the

Drummer leaves.

The Guitar Player and the Bass Player start a mildly

successful electronic side project that becomes their full

time gig, opening up opportunities on film and television

soundtracks.

The Drummer took 6 months to get his chords down and started

composing folksy children’s songs.  They aren’t that good

but the kids can’t tell the difference.

The Singer rode the party boy train all the way to… well,

wherever the party boy train leads to.

And some of them lived happily ever after.

And the others died a quick death alone.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

