Run Log 47

Thursday  3-24-2011 at 4:37 PM CST         60:17 minutes   est. 6+ miles

Warm day today.  It was 77˚ and it’s gonna get hotter.  I felt stronger today than Monday and Tuesday.  The rest was good.  I still wouldn’t say I felt strong but better for sure.

I’m having to type this one at 2 AM on Friday morning.  I had some things I needed to take care of.  I think I forgot about this for a few hours there.

During the run today I could feel my muscles working hard but I still felt wimpy.  I don’t know if I should blame it all on the heat or not.  It does drain me of energy but I don’t know if it’s the sole reason.  I guess I expect to go out there and feel like I’m improving but today I just felt wussy.  I stopped a couple times.  I guess that’s okay but I always wonder.  Some days when I’m just starting out I don’t get overwhelmed thinking about the miles I’ve got in front of me but other days it kind of flattens me.  Today I was trying to ignore the miles I needed to run but I wasn’t doing a very good job.  It felt like work.

I was thinking about the long run I have planned for Saturday today and wondering if I could do it.  It just sounds impossible with the way the last few runs have gone.  I’m going to rest Friday and try to go out at a good time on Saturday but I really just don’t know what to expect.  I’m gonna try to run 13.1 miles.  That’s the goal I’m giving myself but I’m also planning to be very graceful on myself because I don’t even know if I can do it!  I do think it’s worth a shot.  If I can get a half-marathon-distance in I’ll be impressed with myself.  I don’t know how long it’ll take me.  I’m betting it’ll be around 130 minutes.  Probably closer to 135 or 140 minutes, to be safe.  Just thinking about it makes me tired.  Maybe I shouldn’t think about it so much.

Again, I don’t know what my goal will be after I am able to get to a half marathon.  I said in an earlier blog post that I’m going to keep updating until I get to 100 entries but I may take a break when I hit 50.  I’m curious to see if my runs change any if I’m not writing about them.  Maybe I’ll take a 1 or 2 week break.  I’ll still run but maybe the runs will be easier since I won’t have to think about them so much.

We’ll see what happens, I don’t totally know what my plans are right now.  I’m just taking it one entry at a time.  I’ll try to say something more solid in # 50.

Ta ta.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

