Run Log 46

Tuesday  3-22-2011 at 3:23 PM CST         40:43  minutes   est. 4+ miles

This is the day I decided that not pushing myself very hard and resting might actually be better for me than trying to keep up my schedule.  I set out today meaning to hit 6 miles but like yesterday it was just a slow mess.  I don’t know how long it takes to recover from long runs (I’m searching the internets right now to find out).  I stopped at 4 miles today.  At first I thought it was going to be a temporary thing but then I decided it was an okay thing.

I don’t want to get burned out of this and I think I’m on a pace to.  I’m enjoying the running but I don’t like when I feel I’m pushing myself harder than I need to.  I really just want it to be a thing where I like going out to run.  I want it to be a good, healthy thing for me, not some over driven, obsessive thing.  I think I’ve kept it in control for the most part but I should probably be careful.  I think the day it starts being a total drag is the day to either quit or really lower my aims.

I did get a solid 4 miles in.  It was another very windy day.  I was just not in the mood to wrestle with it today.  I know it’s a normal thing for runners to have to deal with the wind but it just seems to take the fun out of it sometimes.

I’m not really sure at the moment what my overall goal is.  My temporary goal is to find a pace that I can keep and still wanna keep going.  My weekly goal is to try to rest a little but then try to hit a 13 or 14 mile run on Saturday (if I can).  I need to get my runs in for the week but I may also need to conserve a little.  I don’t know.  I really just want to be able to get out there on Saturday and feel fresh, not already worn out from the week.  I’ll probably shoot for a 6 mile run on Thursday and have some good rest days tomorrow and Friday.  Something like that.

I don’t know, I’m just trying to manage this as I go.  Some days I feel great but today and yesterday were rough.  And I think it’s mostly because I’m still recovering from this weekend.  It’s as simple as that.

Anyway, have a nice night.  I’ll talk at you people Thursday.

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

