Run Log 44

Saturday  3-19-2011 at 6:56 PM CST         120:07  minutes   est. 12ish miles

Today started off bumpy.  I watched a dog all Friday night and early Saturday (this) morning and I was going to try to sleep from 6 or 7 to 2 or 3 but I didn’t get to bed until noon.  And that made me wonder about the run.  It kinda got put in Limbo for a little while.

My sleep attempt didn’t work very well and I was ready to get up by 3.  I was still really tired and wondering if running would be a good idea.  I considered going Sunday morning instead.  I laid down again.  The sun was starting to set.  Then I decided to just go for it.  Since it was going to be an extra long run I formulated a plan to run the first half, stop back at the house to get some water and use the facilities, and then go run the rest.

So that’s what I did.  My stop was at 52 minutes (there was also a brief water break at 34 minutes, I should add).  The house break (the one at 52 minutes) lasted probably 8 minutes.  I didn’t know if that was too long.  I didn’t care too much.

My goal was to run another 50 minutes to get to around 10 miles and then maybe push it to 11 or 12, depending on how I was feeling.  I ran to the track by the middle school where I normally run on Saturdays.  When I was about 7 miles into the run this dude with a pony tail joined me on the track and blew right by me.  He was going quick but I kept telling myself it was okay because I had gone pretty far already.  I guess it still bothered me.  I think he lapped me twice (why am I putting this on my blog?!  I can skip this information if I want!!).  He only ran like 3 miles and then he left.  I was like, “heh heh… (cough! cough!)”  I was way past trying to be competitive though.

Now, I have to say that I noticed something while I was running at the track.  I watched my times and I’m not sure if I was going as fast as I normally assume.  I usually think I run about 9.5 minute miles.  I round it up to 10 so I can just measure by my timer when I’m running all over the place.  Well, by the 8th mile I think my miles were taking probably closer to 10.5 or 11 miles.  I was getting sluggish.  So, I don’t know if I quite hit 12 miles because I just stopped at 2 hours.  It was long enough for me by far.

It was still the longest run I’ve ever done in my life.  And I’m proud of that (even though I might be too tired to feel proud).  I was thinking about pushing it to try to get 13.1 miles in but that thinking didn’t last too long.  My heart wasn’t in it today.  Hopefully next week.

And one more note to add before I post.  This was the first run of the year (I’m pretty sure) that I didn’t listen to a podcast or music while I was running.  I took my iPod to use it as a timer but I didn’t play anything through it.  I wanted to see if it changed the run (also I didn’t have time to load up new stuff).  My conclusion is that I ran at about the same speed but I felt a little more bored than normal.  But also, some podcasts just weigh you down mentally for some reason.  I felt pretty good.  I just ran in circles for a while, basically.

Anyway, nice long run and I’m gonna relax a little now.  Thanks for reading.  Bye.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

