Run Log 42

Tuesday  3-15-2011 at 3:29 PM CST         60:23  minutes   est. 6+ miles

I almost forgot to do this update today!  Whoops.  Not that any of you can tell that.  Uh.. what were we talking about again…?

Hi.  Solid run today.  My goal was to get 60 minutes in.  That happened.  It was 60˚ again.  Not bad.  I was a little tired but I just made myself keep at it until I got to the end.  The run felt a little boring.  I think it was the podcast.  I’ve had some not very exciting podcasts the last 2 runs.  What a shame.  I don’t like when the runs are completely bland.  I think I spend more time searching for good podcasts than I do actually running.  I think if I ever quit running it will be more out of boredom than laziness.  I just get tired of running around the same loops all the time.  But then, I also like that I don’t have to think too much.

It is REALLY hard to make these runs sound different from each other..

Today’s was not easy.  I didn’t want to be out there too much.  But I feel like I have some momentum so that made it a little easier.  When I’m on my routine and I’m focused on it I just don’t have to think much to get out there.  And then my only goal is to not stop until I’m done.  And I did stop for about a minute today.  I got a drink of water around the 35 minute mark (which is becoming a regular thing for me lately).  After the water I stood by a wall for about 30 seconds to catch my breath and then I started back up again.  Once I did I felt refreshed.  It seems that sometimes all you really need is a little break.

I like breaking at 35 minutes because at the loop where I run it’s just 2 more laps and then another about 5 minutes on the way back home.  I’ve mentioned this before.  You always have to break these things up into less intimidating pieces.  And by the time I’ve run 3.5 miles I can usually get 2 and some change in without much stress.

It was weird how tired I was though.  I definitely didn’t dominate the run or anything.  I felt like I made it to my goal with about as little effort as I could muster.  I felt like I was being pulled along very slowly by a small string.  Somedays I feel strong when I’m running but today I felt about the complete opposite.  But I made it so I’m glad about that.

Sometimes it’s hard to tell if you’re making any forward process.  Like, I can’t tell if I’m getting stronger or better or anything.  It feels like I’m just breaking even.  But I do feel less tired tonight than I often do on Tuesday nights after 2 days in a row of running.  I’ll rest tomorrow and hit it again on Thursday.

I’ve read things about some runners who run every single day and that seems crazy to me.  I don’t know if I could go every day.  I like my rest days too much.  Of course it would matter how far I ran each day.  I’ve heard stories about people running 10 miles a day.  And that’s hard to believe.  I’ve heard that when you run that much regularly you can run marathons with very little trouble.  I’m not sure if I’ll ever be at that pace.  I’m not sure if I even want to get there.

Well, that about wraps it up.  We’ll continue this on Thursday.  Nice to “run” into you.  He hehe..

(Don’t laugh at that)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

