Run Log 41

Monday  3-14-2011 at 4:07 PM CST         60:17  minutes   est. 6 miles

Wow, I realized today that I’m pushing my 10th week on the Run Log.  Pretty wild.  If anything has come from it it’s ease.  That’s what I was thinking when I started up today.  It’s such a routine that I can get going without having to think about it too much.  It feels like a less significant thing each time.  And I should probably look at that as a good thing.  It takes the pressure off the individual runs.

I’m cooking a pizza now.  I’m extremely hungry.  I think I’ve only eaten 2 bananas today.  And I don’t recommend that.  I did just wake up at 2 in the afternoon though.. I was trying to keep that part a secret..

The run felt really good today.  It was 60˚ with some annoying winds happening but I tried to just keep going anyway.  I took a water break at 35 minutes but that’s okay.  I’m writing this about and hour after my run and I feel good right now.  Some runs you just feel weird after but on this one I feel refreshed.  I didn’t feel wimpy like some of my runs (not that I felt particularly strong).   It felt like a good, solid run.

Last week I sent some tweets out asking if people thought I should keep doing my Run Log.  I don’t check my stats very much but I get the feeling that not a lot of people actually read these things.  I said something like, “If I can get 3-5 people who want me to continue this I will, otherwise I’ll wrap it up at 50).   I got exactly 3 responses.  2 were positive.  1 confused me but I took it as positive (out of necessity).  To me that means that 3 people might read this.   But I guess that’s enough to keep doing it.  I mean, it’s kind of fun for me.  I like writing and I sometimes have a hard time knowing what to write about.  But talking about my daily runs seems to fit right in with what I can do.  I like that it’s an ongoing thing and that I’m reporting on actual facts.  I don’t have to make anything up to keep it going.  And fiction writing takes a lot more effort for me.

I have a goal for this week.  It’s to run for an hour on all of my weekday runs and to run 11 or 12 miles on my Saturday run.  Today was the first of my weekday runs and I made my goal, so that’s good.  If I can make my Tuesday run I think Thursday will be easy.  Tuesdays are always the trickier day since I don’t get a rest day before it.  But I think I can pull it off.   If today’s run is any indicator of how the week will go then I think I should be able to meet my goals.

My main overall goal at the moment is to run the distance of a half marathon.  I missed my chance to attempt it at the Cowtown Marathon a few weeks ago but I think I can get there soon.  I’m not sure what I’m going to attempt after that.  I may keep going and try to build up my distances for a full marathon but I really don’t know yet.  That’s pretty far beyond where I’m at right now.  I’d like to get there someday.  And it’s probably a good time to attempt it but I’m just now sure yet.

I think what will probably happen is I’ll keep on my regular schedule and try to keep pushing myself gradually as I go.  I can always add distance just to see how it goes.  There’s no real reason to attempt all of this other than me just wanting to see if I can do it.  At least right now I’m really enjoying the challenge of it.  I hope I continue running for as long as I can but I don’t know what’s going to happen.

Hmm… that’s all big stuff.  But I’ll be having another regular old run tomorrow.

We can continue this blog then.  Ta ta.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

