Run Log 40

Saturday  3-12-2011 at 3:47 PM CST         98:50  minutes   est. 10 miles   weekly miles: est. 24

Wow, what a day.  I was blessed with some beautiful weather for the run today.  I think I read that it was 74˚ out.  It was perfect.  I set out today with a goal to run either 11 or 12 miles and I think I actually could’ve made it but I hit an issue at 98:50 minutes where my only priority became getting to a bathroom quick.  And that’s how my big run of the week wrapped up.  I had to hurry home and… all this.  I was sad but I couldn’t complain about the 10 miles I got in (usually I’d say I would have to get in a full 100 minutes to say I ran 10 minutes but.. it was close enough).

The run itself was broken up a bit.  I did a cross country kind of thing to mix it up but it had me running down a bunch of sidewalks where I had to stop to wait for lights to change.  And I also stopped at 2 different places for beverage acquisition (this may have contributed to my bathroom problems actually).  I walked more than a few times.  Sometimes when I was tired, sometimes just to think and figure out where I was.  I counted up the total # of minutes I was gone and it was 148.  I stopped my timer anytime I quit running.  So I was walking or sitting or buying stuff for about 50 minutes of all that.  But I guess I’m going easy on myself about that because it’s all really about maintenance more than anything.  Taking it easy every once in a while doesn’t hurt anything other than my real time (and maybe my pride).

Overall I’d say it was a pretty good run.  The only disappointing thing was the ending.  But I don’t know if there was much I could do about that.  That’s kind of a normal issue for a lot of people.   I was even geared up to run those last few at a track so I wouldn’t have to stop so much.  I got there at about 87 minutes in and my goal was to try to run 4 more miles.  That would’ve been close to 12.5 miles (I think).  That would’ve been pretty awesome (of course if I got that far I would’ve pushed it to 13.1 to get a whole half marathon in).  I only made it about 5 more laps.

There’s no real reason to be upset about the run.  I can hopefully just learn from it and move on.  And it’s not like I can’t just try again next week or later on.

For now I’m just going to chill out and eat something.  I might even eat a steak.

Thanks.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

