Run Log 34

Monday  2-28-2011 at 4:55 PM CST          80:23  minutes   est. 8+ miles

I didn’t mean to run 8 miles today but I did.  It was an accident I guess.  My goal was to go 6, which I was wondering if I could get to.  Once I did I felt pretty good so I just kept going.  I’m learning that the last couple of miles in these long runs are the most enjoyable.  I love knowing I don’t have much further to run.  It makes the whole thing feel lighter.

Today was gorgeous.  It was 60˚ though it was very sunny.  And I actually ran into a friend at the park.  I rarely see people I know when I’m running.  It was a guy named Steven Plummer.  He was flying a kite.  Or at least he was trying to.  I don’t think I saw the kite leave the ground the whole time we talked now that I think about it.  That was at about 15 minutes into the run, so I had a little break.  We talked about how hard it is to find a good job these days.  Dern economy..

I started back up and ran to 45 minutes and took another break to use the facilities and water up (I just made that up… “water up”).  The run was definitely slow but I just kept going.  That could describe every run, I think.

I’m scheduled to run again tomorrow and the goal right now is to go for 40 minutes.  But I’m just going to play it by ear and see if I want to do more.  After today I think I might wanna go further.  It felt really good today.  There’s a feeling about an hour into the runs that I’m enjoying.  I think that’s why I’ve been wanting to go further, because I can’t feel the feeling unless I go that far.  It’s kind of a point to where I feel the run has totally beat me.  I mean to say that I’ve given everything I can and if I keep going at that point it feels even better.  I don’t know if it’s a running high but it could be called that.  It’s probably what it is.  But it’s cool because it’s not just a rush to the physical side of running, it feels like a mental rush too, which might sound strange.  It feels like a breakthrough or something.  I feel like I only partly know what I’m talking about here.  I’m trying to explain something I don’t totally understand.   Hmm….

I don’t have a ton of things to say today.  I just know that this was an enjoyable run and I feel refreshed.  I’ve been worried that constantly running would feel old and stale but it definitely didn’t today.  I’m looking forward to getting out there tomorrow and I hope the weather is nice again.  I should check that..

More later..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

