Run Log 32

Thursday  2-24-2011 at 3:56 PM CST          60:51 PM minutes   est. 6+ miles

Sorry, I know this is a gross picture but I’ve got a huge blister happening on my foot and I wanted to show everybody.  I hope everybody is having a great day.

Uh anyway… the run today was difficult.  I’m still surprised I made it a full 60 minutes.  They say that running long distances is just as much a mental thing as it is a physical thing.  And I think that was what I was battling today.  My mind was beating me down more than the miles.  It was actually a really nice day.  I think the temperature was around 78˚.  There was a good bit of wind that made parts of the run a challenge but it could’ve been worse.  My mind was dragging me down.  I was trying to ignore it but it was tricky.

I ran 25 minutes and stopped to get some water. Then I ran to 30 minutes and stopped.  Then I decided to just quit at 40 but I stopped my timer at 39 because I was right next to a water fountain.  From there I just started walking back home and feeling like it wasn’t that great of a run.  Then about half way back I looked at the timer again and blame it on the O.C.D., I was bothered that I didn’t get a full 40 minutes in.  And it was only gonna take a few more seconds so I decided to push it just a little further.

Well, once I got going a little more I realized that my body actually felt up to the task and it was just my thoughts that were causing the conflict.  So after I hit 40 I just kept going.  I ran to another loop (this one’s around a baseball field).  I didn’t know how much more I wanted to run.  I thought about trying to get to 50.  So I did that.  And then I just decided to keep going.  And eventually I made it to 60 and didn’t have to think twice before stopping.  I was so glad to be done today.

I guess I’ll go ahead and say what my goal is for this run log.

My goal is to make it to either 50 or 100 entries or to run a half marathon.  One of those will be the end.  I think.  That’s what I’ve been thinking.  I need to have an end in sight somewhere in the future.  50 would be good because it would help me not feel so redundant (these entries are all pretty much the same thing, right?).  100 would be good just because it’s a whole lot to write.  I feel like that would be a good exercise for my writing just as much for the running.  And I don’t know about the half marathon.  I think that would be a good ending because it’s basically what I’ve been working up to.  But what if I hit it and I want to go further?  And what if I have things to say?  I don’t know.

I’m not sure if any of those will really be the end of this.  During my run today I was considering ending the whole things soon anyway.  But I don’t think I’ll do that.  I’ve still got some more runs in me to talk about.  I wish it didn’t feel so boring.  When I’m writing these it seems so boring to me.  I wonder why people would want to read them.  But I guess I shouldn’t worry about that and just keep writing.

I was thinking the other day how I got into running through writing.  Basically I was writing a lot and I needed to have an outlet to get me out of the house and moving and not just sitting in a chair.  I like sitting in chairs and writing but it’s nice to not do it every once in a while.  So I started running.  And then that got more enjoyable and I think it gave me a place to put some of my obsessiveness.  You know, it’s nice to be able to spread your obsessive nature around.  Running is nice because it’s simple, like writing is.  You just have to take it one step at a time, or one word at a time.

Wow, so many metaphors..

 

Okay, the goal for Saturday is 85-90 minutes.  There’s a chance I might hit 9 miles.  There’s also a chance I might vomit on the side of a road, who knows?

That’s called a cliffhanger.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

