Run Log 31

Tuesday  2-22-2011 at 3:45 PM CST          40:03 minutes   est. 4+ miles

Again, these Tuesday runs are my least favorite I think.  Luckily I only have to go 4 miles.  I don’t know if I could’ve pulled off an hour today.  I wish there was something about it that was different from my run yesterday because describing the run today just feels like I’m on repeat.  It was a few degrees warmer at 63˚.  And there was less wind.  It looks like it could rain.  I think it might later on, I can’t remember.

I’m looking forward to not running tomorrow.  And I do think that piling it on on Mondays and Tuesdays makes Thursdays and Saturdays easier.  The first of each week is more for conditioning.  And maybe that’s good to remember right now because I’m feeling particularly worn out.  Maybe it’ll pay off later.

——–

I’m writing this part a few hours later.  I was hoping if some time passed that I would be able to think of new and exciting things to say about running.

I don’t know what to say.

I’ve been filling out an application for Target tonight.  I filled one out a few months ago and they didn’t hire me.  I went into the store tonight to ask them if they maybe still had my application.  They said if they didn’t hire me then I probably didn’t qualify.  That made me kinda sad I guess.  I feel like I’m a pretty good employee.  I’ve only gotten fired once.  I don’t know why I’m telling this story suddenly..

I tried to watch television with a female coworker.  Okay. That frightened the company, I guess.  I was trying to watch Futurama with her because I like Futurama a lot.  They fired me, called me a creep, said I was too expressive (though I think I made it pretty clear to them that I’m a writer — that’s like telling a painter that he uses too muchpaint!), told me I should be ashamed of myself (for I guess trying to watch television with a woman), and told me that if I tried to talk to her again they would call the police on me.  It was so out there and extreme I thought they were playing a joke on me.  I think I was in shock that they were serious.  Seriously, they were being serious.

It made me wonder what the heck they thought I was going to do after I “lured” her into watching TV with me (though since I have every season of Futurama on DVD it could’ve taken a very long time to get through them all..).  To be honest, it just made them look paranoid in my eyes.  I called a friend who’s a lawyer and told him what happened.  I didn’t know if what they did was legal.  I mean, you can accuse people of harassment but what happened there was silly.  I felt pity for the next person to sneeze on the girl.  The lawyer just told me to stay away from that place.  And I was really rattled from the experience so I went and talked to a doctor about it too.  I was freaked out.

What was frustrating about that coffee shop is that they think of themselves as always right.  But they’re not.  They messed up.  But because I didn’t agree with them they called me all kinds of names and then acted like something was wrong with me because I was offended by it.  Accusing people of harassment has a tendency to offend people.  I think they wanted me to feel guilty for all of it, but the whole thing was b.s.  I really lost respect for that company and learned a valuable lesson that I shouldn’t waste my time with girls who don’t like Futurama.  Or can’t just tell me she doesn’t want to watch TV with me.  I can take it.  I’m toughish.

I think I’m a safe guy.  I do enjoy TV.  And I’m attracted to females.  And I use the internet.  And I just want a job.  And I’m stressed out.  But I like myself fine.

Maybe I’m evil and I’ll never find work again.

Or maybe I’ll make it to 2 years without a job.  I could probably do it.

I’ll be talking about running again on Thursday.  See ya’ll then.

Also, sorry this wasn’t about running.  I don’t know what happened.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

