Run Log 29

Saturday  2-19-2011 at 4:29 PM CST          82:42 minutes   est. 8+ miles

Note: If you’re following along with these entries you may have missed #28.  I had to write it at 2 AM Friday morning and I didn’t do a status update on twitter and facebook like usual.  I can’t remember if it was because I was too tired or because I figured most people would be asleep.  Anyway, if you didn’t get to read it and want to just scroll down.

I think I’m figuring out that my favorite thing about running is about an hour after I’ve run, when I’ve showered and rested a little and I know I can just relax and not think about having to run.  I think I might like getting it behind me more than I like actually running.

Today was solid.  It was my long run day so my goal was to get 75 to 80 minutes in.  But I wasn’t sure if I could make that so I was prepared to go easy on myself.  Before I started I was feeling lazy and really just wanted to sit inside and watch TV.  It was about 68˚ out and it was cloudy and gray and… I didn’t wanna go outside too much.  But I did anyway.

Once I started it felt like a pretty modest run.  I often felt like I was going very slow.  I think the knowledge that I had an hour and 20 minutes worth of running in front of me wasn’t the most inspiring thought.  I tried not to think about it and just try to keep my feet moving.  I listened to a few podcasts on the way about music and I think they were a nice diversion for me.

I ran to and around a track around a football field at a middle school that isn’t too far from the house.  There was a bunch of kids out today.  It might have been their track where I was running.  About 6 guys were playing football.  And another 5 or 6 were jumping around on one of those big pads they use to catch high jumpers.  Know what I mean?

Running for a long time is strange because I kept passing these kids.  I think I was running the whole time they were out there.  I wondered what they thought of me just running and running and running.  Some of them were there for the 75 minutes I was there, I think.  I didn’t talk to any of them.  I wasn’t feeling too social anyway.  And I didn’t want to be that weird stranger guy who’s talking to the kids.  I just kept quiet and listened to my music podcast.

I was worried that I was going to get really thirsty or need to use the restroom during my run but none of those happened.  I don’t like running for more than 60 minutes without drinking any water but I drank a few glasses before I left and it seemed to tide me over okay.

It wasn’t a super intense run, I felt slow but steady and I didn’t feel especially tired.  I think it was actually one of the more pleasant runs this week.  My schedule is to run on Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays.  So my most tired runs are Tuesdays, since I’m still recovering from Mondays.  Thursdays aren’t too bad.  And by the time Saturday rolls around I seem to feel pretty good (at least this week I did.. probably shouldn’t speak too quick here).

My overall goal is to keep adding 5 to 10 minutes to my Saturday runs until I can do a half marathon (13.1 miles).  By my pace that could take about 130 minutes.  And that’s if I can keep a nice speed and not have to stop too much.  Long runs are good because they help you get an idea of what to expect when you’re moving for these long stretches.

My own personal furthest distance is about 9 miles.  I haven’t made it to 10 yet.  I think I came close one day but that day ended up kind of messed up.  I think there was some strange weather and my planning was crappier than it needed to be.  Hopefully I’ll be able to hit 10 again soon.  And hopefully I’ll be able to go even further later on.

This is making me tired thinking about all of this.  But if I have more runs like the one I had today I think I should be okay.  I’d love to run a full marathon some day but I’ve gotta work up to it.  It’s strange to say that I’m having fun with this but I am.  It’s a strange kind of fun.  It’s more like an excitement from surprising myself.

I’ll be doing some relaxing tonight.  There are rumors of movies and lots of food and being horizontal for many hours.  There’s a chance I might watch both Casablanca and The Godfather tonight.  I mean to eat popcorn too.

See ya’ll Monday.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

