Run Log 23

Tuesday  2-8-2011 at 3:14 PM CST           40:17 minutes   est. 4+ miles

This was a pretty busy day but I did manage to get my miles in.  I’m housesitting this week and I had to do some packing today.  I guess it wasn’t too bad but I had a lot on my mind.

I was glad I got to get out and run.  The temperature was about 54˚.  I’m writing this update at almost 10 PM so I’m having a tricky time trying to remember all the details.  I do remember feeling tired during the run.  I mean extra tired.  It wasn’t so bad that I couldn’t make it but I felt sluggish.

I found a book at the library called Ultramarathon Man by a guy named Dean Karnazes.  This guy is a nut.  He runs these super long distances.  He even ran 226 miles nonstop at one point.  It took days.  He eats while running.  I don’t know how he goes to the bathroom.  He’s also famous for (and this is seriously insane) running 50 marathons in 50 consecutive days in all 50 different states.

Yes, you read that right.  Click this sentence to get to his website. I read about 100 pages of his book last night so it was on my mind today when I was running my 4 miles.  I kept thinking about how easy it is for him to run what I run.  Not that what I’m running isn’t good, it just pales in comparison.  And actually, I don’t really compare myself to that guy.  I’ve kinda gotta block him out.  But it’s amazing what he does.

I think that might have been why I felt tired.  And I really did.  I felt wimpy after reading about all of his running.  Not that I’m not glad for my 4 miles.

Anyway, the run was tough but it wasn’t too bad.  It went by smoothly.  I really am going to need to turn it up soon and start pushing myself more though.  I’m pretty sure I’ll never aim as high as Dean but I would like to get that half marathon in.  And maybe at some point I’ll even try a regular old marathon.

But my brain is hurting right now thinking about all of this.  I think I’m go sleep a little.

Bye.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

