Run Log 17

Saturday  1-29-2011 at 5:27 PM           55 minutes   est. near 6 miles

I keep having to post these entries late.  And the run today was late anyway.  As soon as I got home I got a text message that gave me my plans for the night so I had to get cleaned up quick, eat and get going.  Now it’s 12:42 on Sunday morning.  That’s okay though.  I got my times written down earlier.

Today was my long run and my goal was to get in 45 to 50 minutes.  I did it at the track by the middle school down the road and I should mention that the weather was AMAZING today.  It was 76˚ and it made the run much more enjoyable than usual.  I was feeling okay once I hit 50 minutes and decided to keep running on the way home to see if I could hit a whole hour.  But I gave that up after 5 more minutes.

The run was good.  I didn’t feel extra tired or sick or anything.  I listened to some music at a low volume level, since I’m kind of tired of a lot of the music on my iPod.  The track was nice to run on since it didn’t bang up my feet like the sidewalk but it got a little boring running around the same football field over and over.  I think I looped it about 20 times.  But I tried not to think about that when I was running.

I saw on facebook that one of my friends, Melissa Brown (the wife of one of my childhood friends Jared) ran 13 miles Saturday morning.  That was inspiring to hear.  Pretty crazy.  I’m not quite there yet.  I might need a couple of months but that’s really cool.  I’m happy for her/jealous of her.

Running is strange because first you feel good that you’re doing it, then you realize that a lot of other people run and that many of them run much more than you do.  The whole world of running gets bigger and bigger as you go.  I’m not saying that I’m not proud of my run today, I’m just saying that there’s much more a person can do than what I did.

I guess I enjoy the challenge of it.  It’s just exciting when you realize that you can do more than you thought you could before, you know?  It’s like you put all these limits on yourself and they’re in your mind but they might not even be realistic.  Hmm, interesting..

Alright, I’m gonna try to sleep now.  More Monday.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

