Run Log 9

Saturday 1-15-2011 at 3:13 PM         40:05 minutes   est. 4+ miles

I’m noticing that my dates are getting mixed up when I’m posting these.  I think when I posted my January 11th entry it said it was the 12th.  I don’t know why wordpress is doing that.  So to keep it clear I’m going to try to start putting my days and times and distances at the tops of the entries.

Today I got out and decided to go run at a track not too far from my house.  It would have been a good place to measure my actual distance but I wasn’t keeping up with how many times I went around.  Whoops!  My only goal was to try to go for 40 minutes, which I know by my pace is somewhere over 4 miles.  I’d like to get my Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday runs up to at least 40 minutes each time but I might have to wait a few weeks until I can pull that off.  I guess that will be my goal this next week.

Again, my speed is very slow.  I’m not racing anybody, I’m just trying to keep moving more than anything.

It was warmer out today, around 48˚.  That made it a little easier.  I stopped for a few seconds around 17 minutes in to take off my one glove, my toboggan and my pullover thing.  I don’t know if I mentioned it but I usually just wear one glove on my left hand.  I carry my iPod in my right hand and just try to keep it in my sleeve.  I don’t know if my fingers would be able to work it if I had a glove on.  I use the iPod to listen to stuff and also to time the runs.  I’ve noticed that if I only time myself then it shuts off so sometimes I put it on random shuffle or start a long podcast and just turn the volume all the way down so the timer will keep going.  Today I put it on random shuffle and dropped the volume low because I couldn’t find any podcast to listen to and I wasn’t in the mood to listen to my music.  I think I’m tired of the stuff I have on my iPod right now.  That could change at any moment, of course.

The track was a good, softer alternative to the concrete I normally run on.  I think it was better for my ankles.  For whatever reason it’s always my ankles that get banged up the most when I’m running on sidewalks.  My feet have been okay so far.  I was getting a bunch of huge blisters last summer but I guess my feet are getting tougher.

I didn’t feel abnormally tired today.  I mean, I was definitely tired after 40 minutes of running but nothing that seemed out of the ordinary.  It’s always a relief to get to the end.  Also, I’m noticing that it seems to take me around 23 minutes to settle into a run.  That seems like the point where my blood is pumping and I’m not as cold (if it’s cold).  Maybe it takes that long to warm up.  I’m looking forward to the runs I do after I get more and more used to this distance because it’s fun to be able to push yourself just to see how far you can go.   I think the farthest I’ve run timewise is about 80 minutes.  I read that you’re supposed to drink a certain amount of fluids for every 60 minutes worth of a workout.  I’ll have to keep that in mind.  One of my longest runs last year in early December was going great until a certain point where I was just so thirsty that I couldn’t keep going.  I was trying to break 10 miles.  I ran to Collyville and I was meaning to run all the way back but I just couldn’t make it.  If I could go back and redo that run I would’ve taken a few dollars with me to buy a Gatorade somewhere on the way.  That would’ve saved that run I think.  I do think I got a good 8 miles in that day so I definitely don’t see it as a failure, I just had to walk an awful lot.  I think that’s the tiredest I’ve gotten from running so far.

I’d like to get to a place where I’m running for an hour each time I go out and then do some longer runs on Saturdays.  I think I can do that but that’s when you need to start being really careful.  I know you can overdo this stuff for sure.

It’s funny doing this. Running seems like such a strange thing to want to do regularly because it’s really not a thing you want to do naturally.  At least I don’t.  What’s good about getting onto a regular routine is that it makes the individual runs seem easier.  The more runs you do the less pressure there is on each one.  It isn’t as dramatic of a thing to get out.  It just becomes normal.  And I think that’s where I want to be more than anything.  I mean, I have high hopes and goals and everything but I think it really just feels good to be consistent with it.  And it’s exciting when you can tell that you’re improving week to week.  I don’t even feel like I’m running for January right now.  I feel like I’m getting ready for March or April or the Summer.

And I still don’t know how long I’ll be doing this log.  I’m taking it day by day.  So far it’s been fun.

Okay, bye!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

