Run Log 6

Okay, it’s a new week and it is a cold one.  It’s 31˚ out right now.  I just got back from my run.  After doing 30 minutes on Saturday I decided to switch to measuring my distance by time instead of miles.  It seems like a less intimidating way to do it.  I think it might be recommended in a running book somewhere.  I don’t know.  I think I read something like that somewhere.

Anyway, my goal was to go 25 to 30 minutes.  I did 26:44, which was between 2.75 and 3 miles.  I went pretty slow but that didn’t bother me.  I know that measuring by time will help with my overall endurance and I can just add the minutes as I go.  Those increments are easier to bump up then miles.

When I was running regularly up until the middle of December I was going between 40 and 60 minutes on the average.  I’d like to get back to that.  I feel like what I’m really learning right now is how to run through the winter because it’s always thrown me off before.  I’m glad to get outside and moving.  I know that it’ll give me a good head start when Spring comes.  I would really love to do a half marathon this year.  I was aiming for March but I don’t know if that’s going to happen.  Maybe I should just try for it anyway.

I need to read some running magazines and see if it’s normal for running to slow down in the Winter.  It makes sense that it would.  I don’t feel bad that my running has taken a dip.  I’m just glad I’m still getting out there.  But I don’t know what it’s like for hard-core runners.  I’m sure they know how to deal with all kinds of weather.  I just know that cold weather isn’t exactly the most inspiring thing.  It snowed yesterday but it all melted so at least I didn’t have to deal with that.  I like snow but I don’t know if I want to try to run in it just yet.  I know in other places the runners don’t have much of a choice.

It might even be worse trying to run in the summer when it’s over 100˚ most days.  I did a lot of night running last summer.  I even got into the habit of going around 2 in the morning.  And I don’t know if I would recommend that but the streets were definitely pretty empty then.  I ran sometimes at a park close by and I think I kept a similar schedule to their sprinklers because they’d always poke out of the ground and spray me down.

I wish this log was more fascinating but I think it’s just going to be me repeating myself over and over.  It’s hard to think of what to say about a run.  I know that there weren’t a lot of people out.  I think there was about 3 people at the mile loop when I was there.  I listened to a podcast about Martin Scorsese.  I’m trying to watch all of his movies.  That’s probably for another blog though.

Okay, that’s all I’ve got for today.  More later.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

