Run Log 1

I just got this idea today to try to do blog entries about my running.  The purpose would be to encourage other people who run or want to run.  I’ve been pretty regular with my runs for the last year and a half though I did take about a 3 week break right around Christmas because it got cold, I didn’t have any good cold weather running clothes and well, Christmas throws everything off.  But I’m getting back in the habit.  I got some sweat pants and my mom gave me some good warmers.  They’re kind of like long underwear only more spandexy and they go under the other clothes (I’m guessing).

I think it’s important to have clear goals if you’re wanting to run.  And I think it’s important to be realistic.  Like, if you’re just starting out I would recommend just getting out of the house and walking on a regular basis.  That will help you get used to just going outside and moving a little.  Some people want to really push themselves, some just want to do anything.  And both are good but  I think the most important thing though is to find a good pace for where you’re at and work your way up gradually.  I’m 30 years old and I’ve always wanted to be a runner but for years I was notorious for starting with goals that were way too high and getting burned out too fast.  These days I’m thinking that even getting on a good, regular walking routine is much better than a momentarily inspired 2 week phase that wears off quickly.  I think it’s all about long term habits and just trying to keep them.  And some long term habits are much more doable than others.

One thing I’m going to have to be good about is being gracious with myself because I know I’m gonna have big goals and fall short of them.  But the underlying goal is to just run and enjoy it and try to make the best of it.  I need to remember that!

Before Christmas my goal was to train for the Cowtown Half Marathon at the end of February.  I was running about 4 times a week with long runs on Saturdays that were averaging around 8 miles.  If you don’t know, a half marathon is 13.1 miles.  That’s pretty far for me right now but I think I could do it if I just worked up to it.  I haven’t decided for sure if I’m going to go for it but I’d definitely like to.

I want to keep a running blog because I’ve been talking to a few people who are wanting to get started running and I’d like it to be a source of encouragement for them, as I said.  And I already keep a running journal anyway so typing it out for the blog wouldn’t be too tough of a thing to do anyway.  I’m not expecting the rest of these entries to be this long actually.  What I’d like to include are my times and distances and maybe a brief description of the run itself.  I’ve found over the last year that my enthusiasm definitely waxes and wanes.  Sometimes I feel very healthy and excited to get out there and sometimes getting out there is the absolute last thing I want to be doing with my day.  And there are always so many distractions that pop up and get in the way, so I’ll probably try to talk about that stuff as I go.  I know this year I had some difficult days because I wasn’t giving myself enough rest days or my feet were getting too blistery or whatever.  It seems that there are always reasons to not run whenever you’re looking for them.  And there are always little things you can change to try and improve.

Anyway, today I ran 4 miles at a place I call the “Mile Loop”, which is basically a park that’s behind a church not far from where I live.  My time was 37:29 minutes and it was pretty smooth.  I think I average between 9 and 10 minute miles which is I think pretty average in itself.  I’m more of a try-to-be-consistent guy than a try-to-go-fast guy.  I’m still trying to build up to where I was before Christmas so I felt a little weak but it wasn’t too bad.  It was 40˚ so that made it rougher but I was bundled up good so I was ready for it.   It always feels great when you’re done for the day and the miles are behind you.

I just got the idea to blog about my running today so some of this might evolve as I go.  Hopefully I’ll stick with it!  Right now my goal is to run on Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays so those are the days I’ll hopefully be blogging.  And I can’t guarantee that the entries will be terribly entertaining.  They will probably use the words “good”, “hard” and “tired” a lot.

Anyway, thanks for reading.  See some of you again on Monday!

Jeff

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

