2 Things Near the Topic of Blogging

I like blogging.  I like to post blogs.  In fact, I don’t post them as often as I’d like to.  I just got an email this morning from WordPress that detailed my blog stats for 2010.  Apparently I made 122 posts the entire year.   And I think that’s pretty good but I’d like to try to write more this year.

One of the things that holds me back I think, is I’m afraid to be known as “that guy who blogs all the time.”  But I don’t think that’s something to be afraid of really.  I don’t think blogging is a bad thing.  And I used to get discouraged when I’d read my stats and realize that I wasn’t getting many readers.  But that can’t be too bad of a thing because blogs are kinda there to stay.  You can always go back and read them later on.  So it’s probably better for me to just burn through and try to write as much as I can.  Because that’s what I love to do and I still think I’ve got a lot to say.  I should just say it, right?

I don’t know what the normal blogging pace should be.  Lately, I’ve been posting a new blog about once a week and that seems much slower than I’d like to do it.  I know that there are some bloggers who post just about every day and I think I’d like to be more at that level if I can.  I know that’s a lot of writing but it’s really just about a page a day.  And just because you have a blog that you update all the time, it doesn’t mean that people actually read the thing.  Who knows?  Not everybody on the internet wants to read stuff.  But I think who I need to concern myself with are the people who do want to read stuff.  Because I know that those people are out there and they might be hungry for the kind of stuff I write, you know?

I guess I’d like to stop thinking of blogging as such a big deal.  I mean, it’s really a pretty casual thing to do when you think about it.  It’s just posting your thoughts online for people to read.  And you never know who’s going to find it.  And you never know if those people are gonna like what you have to say or hate it or just not care (which is probably the most normal response).  I think what I’d like to try to focus on is writing truthfully from where I am and to try not to worry about reactions.  And I don’t mean that I’m going to be unnecessarily rude or try to pick fights or whatever.  I think that writing truthfully is a good goal.

I was thinking today about how often after I post a blog I feel stupid, as if I just revealed myself to be an idiot on the internet.  But I don’t think that’s a good thing to be afraid of.  Everybody is stupid in some ways.  And being stupid in public happens all the time.  Sometimes being stupid is the most honest thing a person can do.  Not that I’m encouraging people to actively be stupid, but I don’t think it’s something we should be afraid of.  I guess.

So here’s my thing:  I want to blog more and I want to not be so afraid of sounding stupid.  How’s that sound?   Hopefully not stupid.

No.  No, I… I don’t even care if it does..

So there.

(he types while feeling slightly stupid)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

