The Answer Blog: Question 2

Hi.  Jeff Grant here again.  This is #2 in a series of blogs where I will go about answering any questions people might have.  They can be about whatever you can think of.  I’d like to thank Mr. David Dewese for the following question:

“what’s on the horizon? songs? movie? book? travel? job? kids?”

I’ll answer these one at a time.

what’s on the horizon?

See the other answers I guess.

songs?

I’ve been working on a new collection of songs.  It’s coming slowly at the moment and I’m not feeling any huge rush to finish them.  I have some ideas rattling around in my head.  The main reason it’s going slow is because I’m also working on another collection which is for a project I’m hoping to do with some friends.  It is at an extremely casual level.  It’s basically some friends who I watch TV with.  We decided randomly to start a band so we got organized just enough to write about 8 songs.  The original goal was to make it like a minimusical to put on youtube as webisodes.  We’re trying to find a nice balance between ambitious and realistic right now.  There are different characters (that are mostly named after us real people).  I’ve written parts of a little script for it.  There’s actually one song that’s written from the perspective of a book (don’t ask).  I’m not very sure if it’s ever going to happen because I barely talk to most of the other band members and everybody’s really busy with lives and stuff.  We still have the songs sitting around somewhere so I’m hoping to get some good recordings of them at some point.  The songs are very much in the “goofy” realm but it’s been very fun for whatever it is.

Also, I’d like to get back to my own “solo” new songs soon too.  I think I’ve got a good beginning of an album going so far.

movie?

I’ve been doing a lot of reading up and studying about screenwriting and I wrote one movie that’s called Honey, I Got Shrunk and Ended Up with Zooey Deschanel.  It’s about these 2 internet guys who run a website called thezooeyzone.com and call themselves “Zooeyacs” and they go to a Zooey Deschanel Q & A and get shrunk by a crazy janitor with a diminishing ray.  They hide in Zooey Deschanel’s purse and… well, you’d have to read the script for the rest.  It’s in the vein of Honey, I Shrunk the Kids, (500) Days of Summer, Being John Malkovich and possibly the Bill and Ted movies.   Also, I don’t even know Zooey Deschanel so it might have been a dumb idea to write that thing (it sounded fun).  Good practice if anything.

Then, lately I’ve been working on a 2nd screenplay which is about my Underwater Firefighters comic.  It’s about these 2 guys who have been stationed underwater for many, many years and they finally get back to the surface.  I’ve got the first act written and I need to buckle down on that one.  I’ve attempted this story before with not much luck so this is round 5 or so.  My goal is to write 3 screenplays and then decide if it’s what I really want to do with my life.  I don’t know yet.  I just know that it’s much harder than I thought it would be.  Also, I might suck bad at it.

book?

I’m not writing a book.  I’ve always thought it would be cool to but I’m too distractable.  I’ve started some things but most of my ideas fizzle.  Or I get distracted by the other things I want to work on.  Maybe I’m only meant to be a blogger.  I don’t know.

travel?

At this point I have zero plans for travel.  I’d like to go somewhere.  Usually, if I go anywhere lately it’s to visit my sister who lives maybe an hour or so outside of Austin.  I have been traveling by foot a lot lately.  I’m trying to train for a 1/2 marathon in February.  I’ve never run one of those before but I’m giving it a shot.  I’d like to give more details but I’m scared I might jinx it.  So far so good though.

job?

I haven’t had a regular job since May of 2009 since I moved back to Texas.  I’ve applied at Target, Starbucks, Half Price Books, Chipolte, Barnes and Noble, Borders, Panera, Chili’s and a few other places.  No dice at the moment.  I did get to do some work at a moving company recently and I’m hoping to do that more if and when they need me.  Other than that I think I’m probably poorer than most homeless people.  I’m extremely blessed to have a nice family who lets me do their dishes and vacuum their floors.  I’d been itching for some good time to pour into my writing and music and all this.  Sadly it is definitely not making money so I’ll probably end up having to go back to Applebee’s anyway, which was the one thing I was hoping to avoid!  Dang.

kids?

I don’t have any kids.  I don’t have a job or money so I’m trying to get that stuff in order before I get a wife or any of that stuff.  It’s strange to say that because it’s actually very easy to get a job and money in order when neither exist.  They don’t even need an order!

At the rate I’m going I’ll probably have a family by 2030 at least.  Check back on the blog around that time and see if it really happened.  I’m curious myself.

Any more questions?

  1. awesome. keep on jamming. look forward to more art from you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

