Behind the Scenes (Album): Part 6

If you don’t know what I’m talking about on this blog then read the previous parts in this series and go here.

Okay, not sure if I have much to say on the topic of this record today.  I’ve hit a hiccup with it over the last few days.  There’s been other things to work on and do.  I’ve been working on the songs so far mostly during the night time because it seems like the quietest time.  And that just makes it easier to focus on the writing and recording.  Also, recording in the quiet is a good thing.  But I’ve been needed during the day for other things so my sleeping schedule is wacked out.  Like, last night I tried to go to bed and I only slept for a couple of hours.  Then around noon today I decided to try to take a nap and I ended up sleeping for 6 and a half hours.  Whoops!  I feel good but I’m a little confused about sleep at the moment.

And I’m not talking about all of this because I’m trying to make excuses, it’s just been tricky to keep a writing focus.  So the next half of the songs that I write for this project will have to come after a little break.

I’m looking at the song titles from a list right now and I think it’ll all be cool once I get busy again.  The good thing about having a lot of titles to choose from in the beginning was that anything I wrote randomly could get bent to connect with one.  But now that my list of titles is shrinking I’m thinking it might be trickier to make these songs not sound completely manipulated.  But I’m not sure what more I should expect on a project like this.

I know that this blog post might seem unimportant because there isn’t much new news today but I wanted to write it because these bumps in the road are pretty normal for recording projects.  They don’t usually happen all at once and there is often a lull at some point.  You get empty and you’ve gotta recharge your energies.  Like, right now I’m having mixed feelings about these songs.  I’m trying to decide if I’m gonna cut some after I get them all written.  But if I do that I might flub the whole point of this whole album idea.  I’m thinking it should probably be left as it is and I should just make some peace with the songs I personally feel iffy and so so about.   What’s strange about all this is you never know which songs other people are going to connect with and appreciate the most.  It seems like it would be easy to tell but I don’t think it is.  A lot of the songs that I think are my best and most interesting I never hear any feedback about.  And then people will say how they like some random one that I personally think is half-assed.  That’s all a strange phenomenon.  I’ve always thought this whole thing would be a lot easier if the audience was more predictable but I can rarely tell what they’re thinking.  So yeah, I spend a lot of time with my fingers crossed, hoping for the best.

I think I’m at a point where I’ve just slept too many times since I started this album and I’m having a tough time reconnecting to the original inspiration for it. I think at that spot it’s good to figure out a new angle of attack.  So I’m trying to do a little rethinking here.

Anyway, just wanted to let everybody know what was up about the music and tell you guys not to worry.  I’m still working on it!  Cool?

Alright, rock out.

Jeff

    • Craig
    • September 11th, 2010

    Take yo break, but don’t get too distracted. this project is an awesome idea and it’s turning out really neat so far

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

