Behind the Scenes (Album): Part 1

Around 11 PM on Thursday, Sept. 2, 2010 I made this tweet:

“Music Making Idea: Design a cover and a tracklist for a “new record” and then write the songs you imagine hearing if you played it.”

I’ve decided to try this out and also to try to keep the internet updated as I go.  So basically, right now I have a cover (that’s an old picture), an album title (Behind the Scenes)(get it?), some song titles and one song (already posted here).

I came up with these song titles with the intention of writing the songs I imagine them being, like the tweet says.  These are the titles:

Super Conservative Adventures

You Were an Artist

The Switcheroo

Okay To Disconnect

Guilty People (Make the First Move)

Broken Down and Mythic

Cult Status

What’s His Mutation?

Different Sentimental Moments of Life

That Girl is Bad

Harmonica

Nice Day (For a Pop Song)

Eye Contact Diversions

Dribble

The Key of You

Return of Goodbye

Okay, those are the titles I have to work with.  I think I tweeted all of them except for the title of the song I just wrote tonight (You Were an Artist).  For some reason I have it on my list that’s in my notebook but it didn’t get typed into twitter.  But oh well.

I don’t know how long it will take me to do a whole album like this.  I think it’ll be fun to see.  My goal is to write and record songs as I go and post them on this bandcamp site.  I’m gonna try to make them free since it’s unfinished right now.  Maybe I’ll switch it over to where you have to pay later.

I might only post a link (via twitter) to the bandcamp site each time I put a new song up and not do a whole blog.  I don’t know.  We’ll see.  It’s all part of the process.

Anyway, if I realize later that I’ve forgotten something I’ll try to let everybody know.   I think this will be a lot of fun.  I guess this is my next record and I guess you’ll be able to follow it along as it’s being made if you pay attention well enough.

Thanks!  Let’s see how it works!

Jeff

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

