Blog D.T.R.

I checked out Blogging For Dummies from the library the other day to see how I’m doing.  It gave me some good thoughts.  One main thought was that I’m not sure how clear I’ve been with my intentions for this blog.

This might seem unnecessary but I wanted to talk a little about what my blog means to me and why I do it.  Think of this as a D.T.R. for my blog.  Some of you will think this is silly but some might need to hear it.

Anyway, I’ve had this wordpress blog for at least a couple of years.  Before this I did a lot of blogging on MySpace and before that I had a live journal blog for a couple of years too.  Originally my reason for blogging was to talk about my music.  Specifically, I thought it would be fun to talk about my songs and give my listeners more to chew on.

That was fun for a little while but eventually I think I got bored talking about my songs and decided to just let my mind wander as it normally does.  Occasionally it might intersect with the music but I can never predict when that’s gonna happen.

This blog, more than anything, is about my love of writing.  Sometimes I’m serious on here but normally I’m trying to be funny or satirical.  That, I’ve realized, can confuse people.  And that bothers me.  I don’t have sick motives about what I write.  I try to deal in truthful topics and keep the tone conversational.  Ask any writer and they’ll tell you that you really can’t please everybody.  Writing is about making decisions.  Every word you scribble or type is a decision (maybe not always conscious).  And listeners don’t have to agree with everything a writer says.  And even though it might surprise you to hear it, being misunderstood can be a relief for a writer. It’s like, you want people to take you seriously but… there’s a level of seriousness that is just plain uncomfortable.

That’s usually where the humor comes in.  Or when mine comes in… and probably more as a defense mechanism than anything else.

If there’s anything I’d like to say completely directly here it’s that you shouldn’t take this blog too seriously.  Or just take it as seriously as you would a TV show or something.

I used to write only for my friends and family (because they were the only ones reading anyway).  As I’ve gone there have been more and more strangers following along.  And I welcome that.  It has an effect of changing the tone of the writing though.  One fact about blogging that I’ve had to come to terms with is that you can’t control who reads you.  If it’s on the internet then you have to be okay with what you say.  People you love and people you don’t like that much can all read what you put down.  And you have to be prepared for that.

I just want to be clear that this blog is for anybody who wants to read it, from my best friends to those of you I’ll never meet in person.  And for what it’s worth, I’m glad you stopped by and I hope you enjoy your stay (on my blog).  Writing has no meaning if there’s nobody listening, so thanks.

If anybody has questions or concerns or whatever, post a comment or send an email or something.  If there’s anything you would like me to talk about in this blog then let me know.  I could probably use some interaction around here.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

