My True Feelings for Arcade Fire

Now, I want to be clear:  I do like Arcade Fire.  I think they’re talented and creative and more interesting than most bands out there today.  But I don’t love Arcade Fire.  I’d like to.  I’m interested in the possibility of loving a band as much as it seems like people love them.  I’m just not there yet.  Love requires time to develop (or something).

I like Weezer more.  I like Wilco more.  I like U2 more.  I like The Flaming Lips more.  I like Neutral Milk Hotel more.  A lot of bands I really like I like more than Arcade Fire.  I appreciate what they do surely.  And I’m not criticizing them by any means.  They have the number one album in the country right now, what one blogger says doesn’t mean much.

I think I feel luke warm about them and I keep thinking I’m supposed to feel… you know, fire.  I don’t have their new record yet but I have both Funeral and Neon Bible.  I’ve listened to the new one (The Suburbs) a few times online and I watched their show on youtube the other day and I saw them on The Daily Show today (it was a repeat from Thursday).  I’ll probably buy The Suburbs eventually.  I like it enough to do that.  And maybe that’s enough.  Gosh, what am I hoping for anyway?

See, I like to say in front of people that I like them.  I like being in on “the conversation”.  I like the feeling of pretending like I’m really into them.  I like that feeling more than the feeling I get when I listen to them.  I guess I always feel like I just don’t get it.  It’s like I’m trying to get it but I’m just not.  And I guess I don’t want to be an actor about this anymore.  I want to have a genuine connection to the music.  And some of the songs I do have that with.  But not all of them.  Maybe 2 per album.  I just feel like I’m missing something.

And I don’t know if I can say with a completely pure heart that I love Arcade Fire.  I always feel like kids get them more than me.  And I don’t want to pretend that I like them more just so I can fit in with teenagers and hipsters (and tons of other people, don’t mean to sound so judgmental and assuming).  Maybe it’s just not my kind of music.  And there’s nothing wrong with that.  People are allowed to feel average about anything they want to.  I just don’t want to lie any more.

I’m not saying this to get into any fights or cause a blogosphere commotion.  I mean no hipster harm or musician mutilation.  I only aim to speak accurately here.

Like, you know how when they’re playing a song and they’re spazzing out like they’re about to pass out or have a seizure because of the music?  Yeah, I just can’t get into it.   And I know that it’s part of the “theater” of it.  Like it’s not real anyway.  Maybe I just don’t care.  I don’t know.  It’s hard to care about music when you don’t naturally.

I’m sure that I’m discrediting my musical opinion in some way.  I’m sure some will think I’ve gone batty.  I’m expecting that. I’m prepared maybe.

I do like Arcade fire.  But love is such a strong word.

(Gosh, I’m a loser..)

    • Codes
    • August 17th, 2010

    When you were young you were the king of carrot flowers

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

