Public Blog

Yello.

It’s been a stretch since I’ve blogged so I thought I’d try it again.  This has been a quiet but fruitful summer for me so far.  As I type this I’m housesitting for the second time this summer at my aunt and uncle’s house out in the (sorta) country.  My 88-year-old Grandmother lives here so I’m mainly here to remind her to take her medicine (which she never forgets to take).  I also put in a movie for her at night but other than that, I don’t have a lot of responsibility.

As far as music goes, I recently bought Logic Express 9 for my iMac.  I’ve been using Garageband to record so upgrading has been a pretty big deal for me.  I’ve spent a lot of the summer trying to learn how to be a better recording person.  For a long time I never really thought of myself as a music recorder, just a songwriter.  So I have been all about EQing and insert effects and mixing and mastering lately.  The more I learn the stupider I feel (isn’t that how it always goes?).   Recording is a whole ‘nother world of things to think about.  I understand the basics because I recorded like crazy in Garageband but Logic (and any other professional-level software) is much more detailed and what I can do has definitely multiplied.

I think after I soak up all of this stuff I’ll still have pretty simple recordings.  I’m assuming that.  But more than anything, I want those simple recordings to sound really good.  That’s my current goal.   And making good-sounding recordings is WAY harder than making crappy-sounding recordings.  I used to make c.d.s in a day.  Not that they sounded all that great or were very interesting to listen to.. but that’s how I did it.

I was thinking earlier that I didn’t have to try to learn all of this recording stuff because technically it isn’t really my job.  At first I thought I was just being stubborn but I guess there’s nothing wrong with trying to turn yourself into an okay-to-average recording engineer…

Wait!  What am I talking about?!  I HAVE to learn this stuff!  It’s not like I have money to pay other people to do this!  I’ve gotten pretty far from favors from friends but I can’t be a talent mooch forever.   There comes a time in every songwriter’s life when he or she needs to learn how to work an audio interface.. and my time is now.

Other than all of this learning I’ve been watching a lot of Futurama.

Oh man… Futurama…. I love this show.  I have all 4 seasons on DVD as well as 2 of the 4 direct to DVD movies.  I have decided that Futurama is manna for creative people.  It’s so smart… It’s so funny…  I’ve been going through my DVDs over the last week or so.  Right now I’m on the 18th episode of the 3rd season.  I’m getting to where I crave it when I’m not watching it.  I know a lot of people who think this show is nerdy but they’re all a bunch of dumb people..  I just don’t get how people don’t like this show.  It makes no sense to me… no!  I will not try to understand!

Oh and I have another announcement to make.  Well… I don’t know if I want to make it.  Hmm…  How can I be vague here?   Okay.   I FINALLY finished my first draft of my first screenplay.  I’ve been trying to write one for a few years and getting mainly a lot of frustration.  But I finished!  And it’s only 60 pages right now.  I might need to add some more stuff to it.  And honestly, I don’t know if it’s great or awful.  I think it’s cool but… I mean, I’m the one who wrote it and all..  I don’t want to say the title yet.  It would definitely give away what it’s about.  And I don’t have any plans for it.  I’m really just thinking about it as a practice script at the moment.  I needed to just finish something so I would know what writing a screenplay felt like.

CONCLUSION:  Writing a screenplay is HARD.  It’s a lot of brain work and I had quite a few headaches trying to get that thing to the page.  Right now I’m trying to decide if I want to write another one or just write some more songs and try to be a good microphone guy.  I have an idea for a second screenplay and I’m doing some prewriting for it (though I could get really lazy at any moment, I’m sure).  I think I have an overall goal about all of this screenplay stuff, because it’s come out of nowhere in a way.  I’ve been thinking that I might try to write 3 scripts before I decide how serious I am.  And my reasoning here is that by the third script I should have a lot more confidence about what I’m doing and hopefully I’ll have figured out what my style is.  I don’t know if my style is quite what I thought it would be when I began.  I think my style changed sometime as my screenplay went from the dream phase to the reality phase.  What I’m capable of writing is different from what I wish I was capable of writing.  So I’m having to deal with my limitations here.

See, I like the idea of writing stories but it’s a tough thing to do and it really asks a lot of you.  And that feels like an understatement.  I might be the exact kind of weirdo who is able to endure sitting alone in a quiet room and scribbling thoughts down for months at a time but… I guess I’d like to think that I might be cooler and more social than that… Hmm..  I do know that writing doesn’t just appear and there is a cost to pursuing this stuff.  I don’t know yet if it’s worth it.  Maybe.  I do believe that I’ve got the craziness to do it in me.  And that’s good to know.  It’s just that sometimes writing seems like signing up for jail.  Because you are gonna be spending so much time sitting still in a room, just thinking.  And doing it voluntarily… and that just seems near insane to me.

But I never said I was sane.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

