Secret Blog 2

I’ve been having some fantastic dreams lately.  I think they’re better than my real life.  I’ve been trying to savor them because they are very entertaining to me.  I’ve been sleeping late and letting the dreams unfold at a regular pace.  The other morning I had a dream where I went to New York City with a bunch of friends (even though I have no idea who they were, just that they were friends somehow).  I have recurring dreams where I go to New York City.  I’ve never been there in real life.  I’ve always wanted to.  I would love to live there for a few months sometime.  That’s a dream of mine.  

Anyway, in my New York City dreams I’m always riding in a car and we approach the city on a bridge and there’s always a million cars.  And I just stare at all the buildings like a little kid.  In fact, in the dream  I had the other day, the car we were in had a sunroof and I looked up through it at a building so tall that I fell over backwards in the car.  I guess I wasn’t sitting in a seat.  It was more like the seats had been taken out and it was just a big open inside of a car.  Now that I think about it, maybe it was a limo.  Hmm..

Well, I fell over backwards and I was just completely silent at the sight of the huge buildings.  I think I’m partly in love with New York City.  

I think I have the same love for Los Angeles.  I have a dream world where I go there too.  Not in my sleeping dreams.  I mean just in my day dreams.  Yeah.  The other day I found the address to the building where they shoot The Office and I entered it into Google Earth.  Then I did the thing where you can view it from the street and I pretended like I was standing there looking at the real Dunder Mifflin (only it had the name of a studio on it).  It was behind the fence just like the show.  And the street was in an industrial area on a dead end.  

I’ve never been to L.A. either.  I’ve never even been to California.  I would like to live there for a little while someday too.  Not permanently again but maybe for a couple of years.  I think I would have fun around Hollywood.  I had an idea last night to move there for a couple years with the goal to be in a movie.  And not to have an acting career but to do something in a movie.  I could just be an extra in something.  I just think it would be cool to be able to tell my grandchildren that I was in a movie.  I’d probably leave after that.  Or I would just hang out around town.  I think it would be fun to go to premiers and pretend to be a part of the scene.  That idea sounds funny to me because I don’t have a lot of ambition to actually do it.  I can’t tell if I’m just imagining it for the fun of it or what.  I think it would be fun to be around where they make a lot of TV and movies.  

I’m trying to think if there are any other places where I would like to live.  Maybe somewhere in the mountains.  I have a USA travel guide and there is a picture of a street in some Northern state that looks so picturesque (I know that sentence sounds ridiculous but I mean it).  You know how some places just look so cozy and interesting?  I saw that picture one day and imagined what it would be like to live there for like 10 years of my life and just write books.  I think I could really concentrate in a place like that.  I don’t know how involved I’d get in the world around me.  I’d just observe life as it passed by me and I’d go off into my quiet cabin and write some stories.  

That would be amazing!  Don’t you just want a cool writing space?  

Do you ever have fantasies about writing spaces?  I do.  Another one of my writing space ideas is to have a house with enough extra rooms and have two dedicated to writing.  See, I would keep one of them empty and bare and put all the books and everything in the other room.  Then when it was time to write I’d get whatever supplies I was gonna need for the day and then take it into the empty room.  That way I wouldn’t get distracted by all of the clutter.  And I’d clean it and empty it at the end of every day.  Seriously, I would have a whole room dedicated to being completely empty.  I think it would help me focus because I would take the bare minimum of essentials in there with me each day.  Some times I’d take a desk in there with me and some times I would just have a card table.  And somedays I’d take a couch in there but other days it would just be a regular chair.   Maybe some days I could take recording equipment in there to record music and other days I would just take a notebook and a pen so I could scribble some ideas down.   

I like that.

I think you need room to dedicate to your work.  It’s gotta be a whole separate place.  Not that it’s absolutely required but I think it can really help.  Maybe it can help your mind keep organized.  

I bet someday I have a whole big house that is all dedicated to writing.  And I bet my bedroom and kitchen and living room and bathroom will all be in one small corner of the house.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

