To the one you can’t talk to

It’s confusing when you sing songs who your audience might be.  I’ve written songs directly to certain people and then afterwards said stuff like “Oh, it’s supposed to be a metaphor for something.. it’s not about what it’s actually saying.”  You know how when people are trying to say how they feel to each other and they can’t articulate it?  They’ll put in a certain song and say, “This says everything I wish I could say to you.”  It’s like songs as Hallmark cards or something…. Well, that’s cool for the listener and nice that they can connect to your songs in that way but it’s a strange thing for the singer sometimes.  People will be listening and say, “Hey, man will you shut up and quit talking!  Just sing the song!  You’re ruining the moment!”  And I’m thinking, “What? ! I CREATED this moment, jerks!!!”  But then I have to try to let it go.  It’s just tricky to know how to keep the magic going or whatever… With this song I was trying to imagine a couple who couldn’t talk to each other and try to write “their song”.  It was a consciously backwards way to write.  It’s mainly a bunch of stuff that people wish they could say to each other… if they only had the words..

To the one you can’t talk to

How are ya’ doin’?

Whatcha’ thinkin’ ’bout?

I’m checkin’ on ya’

Though it’s not allowed

I’m criminal

I know you know

I wish we could talk

Not this slow

These are the words that weren’t in your boyfriend’s mouth

This is the way the conversation didn’t sound

And I’m the invisible in between person who says what you wanted to mean

To the one you can’t talk

To the one you can’t talk to

Did you understand me

When we were close?

Did you talk about me?

On a telephone?

So much has changed

I wanna tell you sometimes

It was no line

When I was kind  

These are the words that weren’t in your boyfriend’s mouth

This is the way the conversation didn’t sound

And I’m the invisible in between person who says what you wanted to mean

To the one you can’t talk

To the one you can’t talk to

“I love you but I feel so scared” (X4)

These are the words that weren’t in your boyfriend’s mouth

This is the way the conversation didn’t sound

And I’m the invisible in between person who says what you wanted to mean

To the one you can’t talk

To the one you can’t talk to

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

