Tape

This was written one night when I found a mix tape I made for a trip I took with about 5 friends back when I was dropping out of college every year(3 times total, learned my lesson).  I think I put the tape in my stereo just to listen.  I started to think about the initial excitement you get when you are putting together music to share with people.  I’ve been doing it for a while and I realized that it essentially feels exactly the same now as it did back then.  A lot of my music (especially my early music) was recorded on cassette tapes and given out on cassette tapes so that way of sharing music has always been weirdly dear to my heart.  I probably made about 10 tapes before I ever had my music on an actual cd.  So there is a small group of people who used to listen to my songs when they were just on tape and it’s a cool thing to think about because back then I was actually friends with all the people who listened to my music (which isn’t always the case these days).  When I wrote this song I wasn’t trying to make a tribute to demo recordings but I think I may have accidentally anyway.  Demos are very special thing to musicians.  I like them so much that most of my recordings are really just demos anyway.  This is about that stuff.

Tape

I’m making a tape for an imaginary future car ride

They’re gonna love it, I know they’re really really gonna love it

I can’t imagine a better way for this to happen

I can’t imagine a better way for this to happen

It isn’t easy no, it really isn’t very easy

I really hope, really hope this won’t leave me

It’s all I know, without this I’m really very alone

It’s all I know, without this I’m really very alone

I wanna see you, oh I hope I can tell you

I had a dream and in my dream I dreamed I held you

It wasn’t ugly, sometimes I know it seems so ugly

It wasn’t ugly, sometimes I know it seems so ugly

Don’t move, keep right where you are

Be still, lay down and call it off

Did you know, did you know you never know?

Did you know, did you know you never know?

I’m making a tape for an imaginary future car ride

They’re gonna love it, I know they’re really really gonna love it

I can’t imagine a better way for this to happen

I can’t imagine a better way for this to happen

Did you know, did you know you never know?

Did you know, did you know you never know?

Did you know, did you know you never know?

Did you know, did you know you never know?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

