All She Wrote

This song was inspired by Paul Simon.  I got a book with his songs in it and I sat one night reading it in awe of his talent.  I think Paul Simon might be my favorite overall songwriter.  That night I was paying extra close attention to the way his songs make you feel.  There is brightness and a lift to them.  I can’t listen to a Paul Simon song without stopping everything I’m doing.  His songs fit right into your head so smoothly.  His words are clear and articulate and he has always struck me as a true poet.  There are a lot of songwriters who sound like copies of other songwriters.  Paul Simon is totally original and his music is nothing but brilliant.  I was meditating on his lyrics when I wrote the verses to this song.  It’s not my impression of him.  I wasn’t trying to write a Paul Simon song.  I was just inspired.  I think the chorus came when I sat down with a guitar later on that night.  

All She Wrote

I rarely describe vivid scenes

I use words that are comfortable to me

And if music didn’t make so much money

Would people think it was so great?

The hope of love fuels younger fires

Older one’s know it’s a dance on a wire

Ain’t too easy to forget how to ride

Ain’t so hard to fall off the bike

Hope this is rewarding

Hope it’s worth your time

We don’t have all that much

It’s a little life

And soon the day will be over

Soon the kids will grow

Soon this all will be all she wrote

You wake up every day inside the same thing

You feel a little lost and a little lazy

You loop in your habits

Rest in your routine

You could live your life in your sleep

Why do people get born and die?

Why do they stray far from the light

What’s the point of living?

What’s the point of us?

Do you call good a gift or luck?

Hope this is rewarding

Hope it’s worth your time

We don’t have all that much

It’s a little life

And soon the day will be over

Soon the kids will grow

Soon this all will be all she wrote

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

