Jeff Time: Day 25

Today was a good day.  I found a bunch of neat music to listen to.  It was mostly on N.P.R.’s website.  I didn’t get any podcasts today but those too  have been occupying a lot of my time.

I wanted to put a link to a few things I’ve listened to that I have enjoyed:

Guest DJ Randy Newman– This is a radio show where singer/songwriter Randy Newman talks about his inspirations.  Very good stuff.  I think there might even be a whole concert with Randy Newman on the N.P.R. website.  I’m gonna go look for it after I finish this (important) blog.

Guest DJ Thom Yorke– This is the same radio show only with Thom Yorke (the lead singer for Radiohead).  I’ve listened to this about 8 times now.  It’s freaking freaking freaking freaking cool.  It’s fun to hear what he listens to and what music makes him excited.

First Listen: R.E.M. Live at the Olympia–   This won’t be up forever but this week you can listen to R.E.M.’s new live record.  It’s only 39 songs.  Only. And they are saying that it isn’t like a Greatest Hits kind of thing.  It’s more for people who have been listening to the band for a long time.  They play a bunch of older and rarer material.

And these are 2 podcasts about screenwriting that I listen to.  Both are available on itunes:

On the Page– I was looking through itunes to find a good podcast a while back.  I found this one and now I’m on the 108th episode.  It’s about the craft and business of screenwriting and it’s hosted by a screenwriting instructor in Hollywood named Pilar Alessandra.  It’s very easy to listen to and there is so much valuable information packed into the episodes.  The link actually goes to her website.  I think you can find the podcast from there.  It’s really fun to listen to from a geeky, writer perspective.

Creative Screenwriting Magazine Podcast– I’ve been listening to so much stuff about screenwriting.  If you’re into that kind of thing, this is another really cool podcast.  They interview the writers of different movies.  I’ve been impressed with the people they get on the podcasts.  I’ve listened to interviews with the Coen Brothers, Peter Jackson and some other very interesting filmmakers.  It’s neat to hear them talk about how they came up with their movies.  

Okay, I think that’s all I’m gonna do today.  Those links are random but if you follow them they could take up a lot of your time.  Have fun.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

