Jeff Time: Day 10

I’m working nights lately.  And that’s strange.  I know most of you have jobs where you make money.  Not me.  I sleep all day and write and sing all night.  I don’t even clock in.  I just roll over.

And I feel lazy, but this morning at 7 (when I was going to bed) I told myself, “Remember, you have been working hard all night long so don’t feel guilty as if you aren’t accomplishing anything with your life, man.”  Then I felt better and slept until 3.  

The theme for today is “Negative Love Songs”.  I just realized something.  I’m like a negative-love-song-writing ninja.  I don’t mean to boast but I sure can write songs that suck all the good parts out of love.  

Is that something to be proud of?  I feel a strange pride about my talent.  

VIDEO:  

 

Get a Wanderin’ Eye  

(These are the correct lyrics that I didn’t exactly sing on the video)

I like you but I don’t like love

It’s a mean mean thing from Hell above

Why don’t you flutter far away?

Leave me out in the cold rain

Leave me out and don’t you wait

We’ve been through this too many times

Don’t you cry

Get a wanderin’ eye and follow it

Away from mine

You’ll be so free, won’t take you

Any time

Oh no, it won’t take long

 

Don’t you look at me like that

I’ll never take you back

I’ll never take you back

As far as you and I go

That door it is closed

Our door is closed

Don’t you cry

Get a wanderin’ eye and follow it

Away from mine

You’ll be so free, won’t take you

Any time

Oh no, it won’t take long

 

You shoulda’ been

You coulda’ been

But you woulda’ been

Somebody else

I like you but I don’t like love

It’s a mean mean thing from Hell above

Go on and flutter far away

 

 

This next one is the fourth song on Digital Dreams.  It’s from the creep perspective (which is a very fun perspective to write in).  I wrote it in character so when I sing it I get to blame the words on somebody else.  That’s nice.  It takes some of the weirdness out of the whole thing.

VIDEO:

How Good Do You Want It To Be?

He’s a jerk

Your man is a total jerk

And he’s taken over

He’s taken over your life

Can’t you see it?

I hate the way that he speaks

You seem to love him

But can’t you see?  He’s so mean

How good do you want it?

How good do you want it to be?

How good do you want it?

How good do you want it to be?

I have a house in the mountains

I have a house on a river

I have a house by the ocean

But no one to be anywhere with me

 

I think I love you

But you will never be mine

So I feel guilty

Just for wanting to feel fine

I should go away

I should never return

I should let it go

Let every dream I have burn

How good do you want it?

How good do you want it to be?

How good do you want it?

How good do you want it to be?

I have a house in the mountains

I have a house on a river

I have a house by the ocean

But no one to be anywhere with me

  1. i like the songs. are those tapes and tapes of songs? are you super organized?

    • therockingfeelings
    • September 24th, 2009

    Thanks. No. I filmed this in my dad’s garage and believe it or not those are all tapes of years and years of A Prairie Home Companion. My dad is obsessed with that radio show.

    Thanks for commenting. It makes me feel awesome that maybe I’m not spending “Jeff Time” all by myself. I mean, how sad would that be?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

