Jeff Time: Day 6

I have another video for everyone today.  This is a bathroom performance of a song called “The King Singin’ Man”.  It’s about the life of a songwriter.  In fact, it’s almost like a daily To Do list.   I wrote it around the time I moved back to Texas in May of 2009.  

I should probably note that the final chorus got cut off because the batteries ran out on the camera.  I did get all the lyrics sung though so you aren’t missing much.

 

Here are the lyrics:

The King Singin’ Man

Over-discuss your heart for show

Tell strangers more than they need to know

Act like you’d have them over for tea

But never talk to them if it’s free

Create the illusion that you’re nice

Pose for pictures with sexy wives

Autograph like when you pay your bills

Then get mad when the reporter grills

 

Famous is all I’m cracked up to be

‘Cuz everybody would be better if they knew me

So I’ll plaster my face anywhere I can

I’m gonna be the king singin’ man

 

When they look at you like you’re God in flesh

Let ’em believe it, you might get more cash

Pretend like you don’t just sit in a room

Thinking of ways to make the same things new

And when hot girls wanna come and play

Cross your fingers they won’t think you’re a flake

But when they do, because they always will

Just go recount your imaginary mil

 

Break a leg

Here’s a hammer

Dance on a stage, maybe later in the slammer

Lock your face

In a smile

We’ve gotta’ empty the budget pile

 

Famous is all I’m cracked up to be

‘Cuz everybody would be better if they knew me

So I’ll plaster my face anywhere I can

I’m gonna be the king singin’ man

 

 

Oh yeah, there aren’t any more pictures right now.  I ran out of them.  I am going to need to draw some more.  Sorry about that.  

Everybody have a great day!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

