Jeff Time: Day 3

Okay, there is no reason for you to know this information but this is actually take 2 of the 3rd day of Jeff Time.  Yeah, why would you need to know that?  You don’t.  But now you do know it.  It’s just the way it is I guess.

The reason this is take 2 is because take 1 didn’t feel right to me.  I was going to post a bunch of videos of really weird movie trailers like this:

And this:

 

After watching the trailers I couldn’t decide if I wanted to laugh or throw up so I decided to post some videos of songs that I like instead.  And I don’t know anything about the quality of the videos. I’m posting them for the mainly for the songs.  So you can close your eyes if you want.

This part of the entry is more classy.

Sorta.

This is Nirvana covering… somebody.  I don’t know who.  This song always makes me laugh.  It’s so crazy.  

 

I’ve always been a big fan of Simon and Garfunkel and I have a lot of their songs on my ipod.  One day I was walking around in an old neighborhood looking at a bunch of houses that were probably built in the ’40s.  My ipod was on random shuffle so I didn’t know what was going to come at me next.  Then this song came on and I got an image in my mind of some wayward guy limping through busy city streets.  I was seeing a movie in my head and this was the soundtrack.  There is a lonely, dizzy, almost psychotic feeling to this performance that I like.

Have you ever wondered what it would be like if Bob Dylan and U2 joined forces?  Well, they did for this amazing song from Rattle and Hum.  Unsurprisingly the lyrics are epic.  (Oh yeah, the sound on this video is pretty low so you may have to crank it up)

This here is a song from the second Mermaid Avenue album by Billy Bragg and Wilco.  For those of you that don’t know, the Mermaid Avenue records were covers of songs and poems written by Woody Guthrie and the album is highly recommended.  

Wikipedia has an interesting note about this song:  

“Someday Some Morning Sometime,” featuring a vibraphone filtered through a space echo, was identified by Tweedy as being the “piece to the puzzle” towards the creation of their fourth studio album (Yankee Hotel Foxtrot).

Pretty cool.

Okay, I wanted to include an R.E.M. song on here because they are one of my favorite bands.  In fact, I think Monster was one of the first c.d.s I ever bought (after Kris Kross and Hammer).  

There are so many great songs from their catalog to choose from so this one may seem random.  It reminds me of a very specific time.  And I don’t know if it’s my all time favorite R.E.M. song but… it is today.

 

Okay, I know that there are a lot of people who have been criticizing Kanye West this week, wondering who he thinks he is to be able to act the way he does.  And I’m not saying that his music justifies his behavior but… just try to get through this song without bobbing your head.  And keep in mind that the man has mountains of solid music to back up his mouth.  I’m just sayin’…

And while I’m on the subject, here’s the video that (along with a bottle of Hennessey) inspired all the commotion (Oh and I think you might have to follow the link to youtube to see this one):

My opinion?  Commotion justified.

And if that’s not enough for you, here’s another picture:

 

CEG 3

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

