Jeff Time: Day 1

This is a transcript from a recording I just made on a Microcassette-corder (yes, that’s really what the thing is called).  Thank you for your time…J.G.

Hi, this is Jeff Grant.  It’s Tuesday, September 15.  I’m speaking to you at 7:50 PM.  I’m sitting at a table in a kitchen.  I’m eating a ham and cheese sandwich. 

Hold on just a second…

(Takes a couple scrumptuous bites)

I’m gonna’ talk to you between my bites here.

Now, you’re probably asking yourself,  “What is this guy doing?  Why am I listening to him?  Just what has he got in store for us now?”  Well, this is my thing today.  I have an idea.  It came from another idea I had which is called my 5 Pages a Day Box.  It’s a box.  I write five pages a day and then put it in the box.  And I’ve been doing this for about 3 weeks now (except I missed one day). 

100_0842

Well, in the meantime I haven’t been able to blog as much as I’d like to.   And listen, I don’t know how important it is in the grand scheme of things to blog but it’s just something I want to do, okay?  

Well, I have decided that I’m going to try to put a page or 2 from my 5 pages up on the old blog here.

(Takes a few more bites and sips a glass of water)

Now, I can’t promise that I’ll be saying anything you need to hear.  I’ll try.  But I’m doing this more as an experiment for myself.  I don’t know why I like doing stuff like that.  I guess it’s fun just to see if I can do it.  You know, make a goal and then try to accomplish it.  

So, I’ll try to make it interesting and hope that you like it but… you might think it sucks.   Who knows?   Or it’ll blow your mind and change your life for the better every single day from now until I die or you die.  

I guess that’s the best it could get.  And I don’t know if it’ll get that far, honestly.  

I can’t read your mind.

(Eating)

Now with my 5 pages a day I’ve allowed myself to fill the pages up however I want to.  So I can write or draw or type or whatever.  So yes, pictures do count.  Poems count.  Scientific equations count.  Movie reviews count.  And starting today blogs count. 

So sometimes this blog might be a picture.  That’s what I’m trying to tell you here.  Instead of a bunch of words it might be a picture of a cowboy.  You just never know what you’re gonna’ find on this blog here.  Some days it will be real interesting and helpful and newsworthy and other days it might be just a big stupid joke (that I think is very funny).

(Eats)

Listen, this is my blog and I can do whatever I want.  Some stuff I might think is funny might not be funny to other people but you know what?  It doesn’t even matter.  ‘Cuz all you’ve gotta’ do is not look at it.

But don’t worry, I’ll at least try some.  I know that there is a responsibility when you’re talking to people to try to make it sort of worthwhile.  So I’ll give it a shot.  But if the level of quality fluctuates day by day, well that’s just how it is.  

(Takes 3 bites)

Now, one of the challenges with writing is that you’re trying to make a little space that’s filled up with words and sentences.  It’s a place people go to. Where they can run away from all the worries and stresses and dramas of life.  It’s like an escape. Like a little mental hideaway. A mini-mind vacation, if you will.  Somewhere you can go for maybe 5 or 10 minutes when the workload thins and you’ve got some breathing room.

So, the thing is that you want to make it good but in reality you’re making a place where people can waste some time.  So it’s gotta’ be a place that they wanna go to.  And people, when they’re not working, when they’re not feeling stressed out, they just wanna be somewhere that’s comfortable.  Where they can relax and smile and laugh.

And my job (I guess) is to give them a place like this, where all of their little daily dreams can come true (if only for a few seconds). And if I can’t do that then you know what?  I’m probably failing. 

So, that’s what I’ve got to keep in mind. And if I can, I will try to do this every day but for right now I’m just gonna go ahead and post this picture:

 

CEG 1

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

