Gathering Thoughts

(The blog about if you are needing to contact me is below this one)

Okay, so I’ve got this time to kill and a bunch of little projects.  I’d like to get some new music recorded today and then I’ve got a few things I need to type out.  A lot of the things I need to work on require a ridiculous amount me sitting still and concentrating.  I had an idea on my walk this morning to start keeping track of my writing hours for the week.  That’s because right  now my life just feels like a giant blur of sitting and typing things off into oblivion and I think I’m losing my focus a little too much.  I have all of this stuff written but I have no idea how to make sense of it and it is beyond discouraging for me at the moment.

My idea is to get a timer and work in hour sections so I know where my time is actually going.  If I do that at least I can say, “This hour went to Underwater Firefighters and this hour went to the mutant story and this hour went to music”… even if each of those don’t make sense to me …Right now I can’t tell if I am being productive or lazy.  I am totally lost in my own weird world and I don’t think it’s healthy.  It’s all work work work work work with no plan or end goal.

I got up this morning and brewed some coffee and watched about half of the Flaming Lips at the Oklahoma Zoo d.v.d.  It’s so good.  I don’t get how those guys do it.  They put on such an incredible show.  They just came through town this weekend but I missed it.  I forgot about it.  

I’m going to record about 12 new songs in the next few hours.  I’m doing it on my Boss BR-600 recorder.  That thing is really good for demoing songs.  It’s very easy to use.  It has microphones built into it and I can record 8 tracks on it.  All I have to do is turn it on and start recording.  And then I can dump the tracks into my computer and burn c.d.s right away.  It definitely isn’t the greatest quality but it works for what I need it for.  I am excited to get these songs down.  I like this batch.  I’m not sure what I’m going to do with them after the demos but we’ll see.  

Okay, time to move…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

