Journey Through Random Shuffle

There’s a french fry crumb on my notebook and a little brown kid hair on the seat next to me… yuck.  I am at McDonald’s.  This is one of the places that I go to to check my email and blog a little.   I’m thinking about eating dinner at iHop across the street.

I am listening to In Your Eyes by Peter Gabriel.  It’s that song from Say Anything.  The one John Cusack plays on his stereo when he’s lifting it up above his head.  My itunes is on random shuffle.  I wonder what song is next…

Oh, it’s one of mine… this is called The Way(ve) it id… or The Way It Is.  It is one of my techno songs.  It was supposed to be about psychology.  I made it in Garage Band one night.  It is from a bonus c.d. that was supposed to go with Unfictioned.

Now Beck is playing.  This one is from Guero.  I haven’t listened to it yet.  I am ashamed to admit this but I think I have a habit of buying Beck c.d.s and never listening to them.  I got The Information and Modern Guilt and I don’t think I listened to either of them once.  That’s probably dumb.  I know that I do enjoy putting them in my itunes and listening to them when they come in on random.  It’s like listening to the radio only you own all of the music.

Weezer is playing now.  Pork and Beans.  This song is pretty fun.  I remember the first time I heard it and it sounded like Weezer finally figured out how to sound like Weezer… or at least what everybody seems to think Weezer is.

Did I talk previously about the animated movie that I am trying to make?  It is really hard, man.  I checked out a bunch of books from the library to figure out how people animate stuff and I’ve been drawing a lot of pictures and scanning them into my computer to piddle around with putting them into iMovie and… did you know that animation is 24 frames per second?  (Did I already talk about this?)  Well, I drew 8 pictures and… the guy just doesn’t look like he’s moving in a natural way.

I’ve gotta’ add the voices later.  Seriously, this is hard.  I tried to watch some of a Wallace and Gromit movie and all I could think about was how much work it took them to make it and I had to turn it off because I was about to throw up.

Okay, Counting Crows is on now.  It’s a song from their newer record called Los Angeles.  This is a good song.  I think this record is good.  I don’t know anybody else who has listened to it.  I remember when everybody listened to Counting Crows.  Gosh, they were amazing.  I honestly think that they are just as good right now talent wise but… yeah, I never hear anybody talking about them anymore.  I like them though.

Now Nirvana is on.  Milk It from In Utero.  Man this band is so good to listen to when you are feeling crazy.  It’s like pure pop rage.  This album feels like a tantrum to me.  I think a lot of their music does.  I got into Nirvana from the Unplugged c.d.  I think I got that c.d. and whatever Boyz II Men c.d. was out around that time.  Those were some of my first c.d.s, right after Kris Kross, Garth Brooks and Hammer.

Now it’s Death Cab for Cutie.  This band has snuck into becoming one of my favorites.  I used to have a roommate who would crank Transatlanticism and I thought it was annoying but I bought it recently and I have listened to it so much.  I don’t know why it took me so long to click with this band.  I think that a lot of people have a similar experience with this band.  I think it’s because they are so smart.  When you first listen to them you think that they are just a bunch of nerds… and maybe they are but… seriously, the music is so good.  Ben Gibbard is becoming one of my favorite songwriters.  I really enjoy the intricacies of his writing.  The little lines flash by and you find yourself remembering things from your youth and it’s nice…

Okay, I just came on the list again.  This is a song called Our Honest Days Are Over from a c.d. called Heresy.  I like this song.  For some reason on this c.d. I tried to narrate a lot of it.  I probably should have just put the information in a blog… maybe I did..  Some of this old music I like in a way but then I get a little depressed when I listen to it.  I think that my tastes and instincts have changed a little over the years.  I realized somewhere that I was getting so tired of writing songs that just left you feeling sad.  Hmm… I wonder if I have corrected that yet…

What’s next?

Oh, it’s Willie Nelson.  

I just sighed.  This is The Party’s Over from a record called Always on My Mind.  Willie is one of my favorites.  I always think his music should be played on Waffle House juke boxes.  It is perfect there.  Being from Texas I have a special love of Willie Nelson.  One time my friend Josh and I cut through his home town on the way down to Waco from Fort Worth.  We listened to a bunch of his music and went and looked for his house.  I think we found it but we weren’t for sure.  It was so quiet.  We got out of my truck and just sat there.  I think I even smoked a cigarette out of celebration and I don’t ever do that.  

To Wille…

“….I am an American aquarium drinker… I assassin down the avenue… I’m hiding out in the big city blinking… what was I thinking when I let go of you?”   Ahh… I am Trying to Break Your Heart from Wilco.  So great for so many reasons.  This song always sounds like something else.  I mean… it sounds like something different.  It seems like it’s coming at you backwards and you don’t really know what is going on but… it seems right… “I always thought that if I held you tightly you would always love me like you did back then… Then I fell asleep and the city kept blinking… what was I thinking when I let you back in?”

“Disposable Dixie cup drinking…”

On that note…. to IHop!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

