Gray Saturday

(This is a post from the Saturday after Thanksgiving.  For some reason it didn’t post right away.)

I am house sitting for a friend this weekend. I already talked about this on a note on my Facebook page. I don’t know how many of you people read that or even can. Having several blogs going at the same time can confuse your audience.

Anyway, I am over here so I can walk my friend’s dog 2 times a day. It has been a pleasant time. The dog likes to sniff things. Mailboxes. Piles of leaves. Flowers. Then he likes to pee on them. I guess he’s marking his territory. And from the looks of it he owns this neighborhood. All of the other dogs were barking at him from behind fences. He just ignored them and kept on walking. I think they were jealous. Some of them were barking very meanly. He would just pee in their front yard.

I don’t know how he peed so much. He must have had a lot more water than I realized.

I just watched a movie called “The Fall” and it was amazing. If you haven’t seen it you should definitely check it out.

Yesterday was “Black Friday”. I think that’s what it’s called. The day after Thanksgiving where the tradition is that everybody goes shopping. I was working at Applebee’s. I thought I’d try to be one of those cheery servers for a second. I grabbed a water pitcher for refills and walked up to a table of ten (which looked like a family) and put on my happy face, “So, are ya’ll out shopping today!?”

“No.”

“Oh, are ya’ll just getting together for the holidays?”

“We just came from a funeral.”

“Oh, well! … er, uh…”

“It was his mother,” said one guy pointing at another guy.

“……”, I didn’t know what to say. “……………”

“Can I get you guys any tea or ranch dressing or anything?”

“No, we’re good.”

That was a little awkward. I forget that when waiting tables people can be there for a million reasons.

There are business people. Be quick and courteous with them. They are on a tight schedule. Time is money.

There are best friends having their weekly reunion lunch. Stay out of their way. They got stuff to talk about. They got dirt to spill and eyes to roll. Just keep the sweet tea filled.

There are people on dates. Allow them to be flirtatious. Don’t laugh at them when they appear nervous. Don’t ask if the checks will be separate. Drop a single check off and lay it in the middle of the table. And don’t assume that the guy is paying. Women seem to pay fifty percent of the time.

Then there are people who don’t really like each other but they are trying to eat together for whatever reason (this can also be a business meeting or a date). They talk louder, almost to the people around them instead of the person they are sitting with. They are frightened or embarassed. They want to get through it quick.

Most people just want to get in and get out. All they are really looking for is hamburgers fast. Feed ’em and let ’em go.

This wasn’t the case with a table I had last Friday. It was two older guys. They came in about 1:40, just after the lunch rush. I took their drink order. A Diet Pepsi and a water. Cool. I came back.

“Were you guys ready to order?”

“No.” One of the guys said as if I was interrupting him.

“Okay, I’ll come back in a minute.”

So I left and came back to see if they were ready to order. They weren’t. I came back a third time around 1:50.

“Can I get you guys something to eat?”

“What time do your appetizers go to a lower price?”

“Three o’clock.” (An hour from then).

“Okay.”

“Are you gonna’ wait?”

“Yeah.”

“Are you being serious?”

“Yes.”

I walked off and I didn’t go back to the table. I told one of my managers and he said that he recognized the guys and he said that one of them came into another store where he used to work and sat there from the time they opened to the time they closed. All day and night long. He said that he had to ask the guy to leave. The guy said that he didn’t want to go home. He was afraid of his wife or something.

I didn’t do much today. Saturday is my slow day. I just sat here at my friend’s house and watched “The Fall”. I didn’t even get out of the bed until around 1. These last couple days of house/dog watching have been so quiet. My friend Richie came to visit on Thanksgiving night. We just sat and listened to c.d.s and I did a puzzle of a farmhouse. I had to apologize to him for being extra subsocial (is that a word?). I am pretty introverted normally but I felt like I had built a house inside of my head and spent the last few days in there hanging up pictures and sweeping the floor. The world outside hadn’t contacted me and I hadn’t been thinking about it too much. He was cool with it. I think he was feeling the same way.

I’ve been wondering how much I can do inside of this house. I was going to make some coffee but I’m not that good at making coffee. I’ve worked at a few coffee shops too but I can’t make coffee. Every time I do I forget how I did it as soon as it’s brewed and it always tastes the same to me even if other people can tell when it’s crappy.

Coffee is always the same to me and I can never remember how to make it…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

