Books on Floor

I put up a post the other day about a book by John Steinbeck that I really like.  I wanted to tell about some others that I have been carrying around.  Oh, and I wanted to clarify that I really love books a lot but I don’t get to read them as much as I can.  Most of my books are things that I bought at some point and skim every once in a while.  I did finish Steve Martin’s book Born Standing Up recently and enjoyed it quite a bit. 

Some others that I have had close by are:

Mother Night by Kurt Vonnegut.  This is a book about a guy who is on trial in Israel as a war criminal just after World War II.  He has been writing for the Nazis, and not really because he cares for their cause but because he doesn’t seem to particularly care for any cause.  I love the moral of the story that Vonnegut put in the first paragraph: “We are what we pretend to be, so we must be careful what we pretend to be.”  Kurt Vonnegut was a great writer.  His books are simple in a way and comical and deeply intelligent.  I don’t know how he did it!

The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon.  I am seriously only 18 pages into this book but I remembered that I had it the other day.  It is going to take some sit-down commitment.  So far I think that it will be a very enjoyable book to have around.  It is entertaining and I think that I am learning something from it already.  That’s all.

teach yourself psychology.  I guess the teach yourself books are a step up from the Idiots and Dummies books(?).  I haven’t really studied psychology since community college but I am having a pleasant time thumbing through this. I really like educational books that are easy to read.  I think it proves that learning doesn’t have to be an intimidating thing.  

Here are some titles of other books that have been on my mind:

Secret Lives of Great Authors:  What Your Teachers Never Told You About Famous Novelists, Poets and Playwrites.  This is like a tabloid about famous literary figures.  It’s really fun and totally nuts!

Harry Potter 4. I may have to quit my job to finish these books.  I have been 1/4 of the way through this book for almost two years now.  I have all seven Harry Potter books but I will probably be 40 before I get done with them.  And I don’t say that because I don’t like them, I am just intimidated that I have about 2,000 pages to go!  It’s a little daunting…

Okay, I am sitting here trying to visualize a stack of books at my apartment and I can’t remember any more.  I do know that I had a day last week where I looked at all of them and thought, “Man, I have so many awesome books!”  I am proud of my collection.  

I probably should use some of the time I set aside to blog as reading time.

Hmm…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

